Program Question for GRE PSR800

Status
Not open for further replies.

KE7FSD

Premium Subscriber
I recently acquired a GRE PSR800 scanner. I would like to update the database and I have a couple of questions (yep, I am new at this). First, I have downloaded the software from GRE America. I think it takes a "premium user" Radio Reference membership to download the updated frequencies. Am I on the right track so far? If I have the premium membership do I find the area I live in (or want to visit and scan) and just download it with software? Will the list be complete? So I think the other comment should be - I live in Maricopa County and would like the local PD (Scottsdale), Fire, Air and maybe some Wildland Fire response as a priority. Then I would go to the some of the other more fun frequencies.

So am I on the right track? obtaining the premium membership and using the software to download the updated and current talk groups will update the scanner?

Thanks

jaspence

Premium Subscriber
You are on the right track with the Premium membership. When you create a code plug for the radio, you have choices. Your first choice should be to have the factory upgrade done for improved performance and DMR capabilities. The simplest way to listen in your area is to use the Zip Code choice. That will give you an idea of what has traffic and what you do or don't want. The Preferred gives you the best selection choices but requires a lot more time to create if you listen to many services. Get at least two good SD cards, one for the radio and one for a backup. A third one for experimental systems is also a time saver. Using a USB SD card adapter will also be faster than formatting and loading the card in the radio.

RDGDigital