• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Programming Cable For CDM1250

Status
Not open for further replies.

sam55671

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
176
Location
Lyndhurst, NJ
Hello,
I would like to know if I can use Solid wire to make a programming cable for a CDM1250. I want to use a CAT5e Cable.
Thank You
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
13,828
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
Sure, it would work.

Problem is constant flexing might be an issue. Stranded conductors tend to hold up to flexing a lot better.

What you don't want to do is have the conductors damaged while you are in the middle of programming a radio. Bad things can happen, corrupted codeplug, etc.
 

sam55671

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
176
Location
Lyndhurst, NJ
Sure, it would work.

Problem is constant flexing might be an issue. Stranded conductors tend to hold up to flexing a lot better.

What you don't want to do is have the conductors damaged while you are in the middle of programming a radio. Bad things can happen, corrupted codeplug, etc.
I am making it for a friend, I will tell him about the flexing, thank you.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
13,828
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
I needed a cable to go between the RIB and a CDM radio, and didn't have time to order one. I built one out of a DB-25 connector and an old Category 5 Ethernet cable. Been using it for years.

You can also program these radios using the rear 20 pin connector.
 

sam55671

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
176
Location
Lyndhurst, NJ
I needed a cable to go between the RIB and a CDM radio, and didn't have time to order one. I built one out of a DB-25 connector and an old Category 5 Ethernet cable. Been using it for years.

You can also program these radios using the rear 20 pin connector.
That is what I am doing, using a DB25 Connector.
 

sam55671

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
176
Location
Lyndhurst, NJ
I needed a cable to go between the RIB and a CDM radio, and didn't have time to order one. I built one out of a DB-25 connector and an old Category 5 Ethernet cable. Been using it for years.

You can also program these radios using the rear 20 pin connector.
Do you have any knowledge in the XTS Series Portables?
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
13,828
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
Do you have any knowledge in the XTS Series Portables?
Minimal. I used them on an 800MHz SmartNet system up unit 5 years ago. I've got a few in use on a VHF analog system. All XTS-2500. Open a new thread, those are popular radios and there are a lot of people with way more experience with them than me.
 

sam55671

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
176
Location
Lyndhurst, NJ
Minimal. I used them on an 800MHz SmartNet system up unit 5 years ago. I've got a few in use on a VHF analog system. All XTS-2500. Open a new thread, those are popular radios and there are a lot of people with way more experience with them than me.
Ok, thanks for the info about the cable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top