Question on using FHSS (single antenna) vs. Using 2 antennas with different frequencies

PB82

Hi everyone,

I’m currently studying some diversity techniques in wireless communications, and a question came to mind when studying time/space/frequency diversity.

I would like to compare the pros and cons of 2 options:
  • Using a single antenna to do FHSS.
  • Using 2 antennas, each in a well separated band (ex: 400MHz and 900MHz).
Here is some context as to why I am interested in this topic:
  • I’m an electrical engineering student, and I’m working on a project involving a wireless sensor network. The “router” nodes of this network each have 2 antennas. One operates around 400MHz, one operates around 900 MHz.
  • The designers of this device designed it with plenty of redundant components. Nearly all hardware in the node has redundant copies.
  • The purpose of making this device was mainly to demonstrate a redundancy management scheme that the team was working on.
  • The decision for using antennas operating at different frequencies was arbitrary. There was no theoretical analysis done before making this decision. Therefore, I’m trying to figure out if this is a good decision, or if there are better alternatives.
Here’s what I’ve observed so far in my reading:
  • In MIMO cellular systems, I see that the antennas of a MIMO system all operate at one frequency. This is space diversity. Also, this allows for techniques such as beamforming.
  • But I wonder, is there any use for having multiple antennas, but at different frequencies?
  • I assume this no longer counts as space diversity. This is now frequency diversity. Also, this would eliminate the possibility of beamforming (I think).
  • If the difference between the carrier frequencies of the antennas is greater than the coherence bandwidth of the channel, then the frequency selective attenuation of the signals will be independent. To me, this sounds like a good idea, so then why is this not more common?