RadioReference.com Global Corporate HQ - April 2012

Status
Not open for further replies.

ridgescan

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
4,778
Location
San Francisco, Ca.
Very professional shack Lindsay-I would love to see a video of your 9500 chasing utilities, with some high end filtration demos and signal refining:D the world just needs to see this almost unobtainable receiver doing some real world DX.
 

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
11,188
Location
San Antonio, Whitefish, New Orleans
I have to tell you that I'm not all that impressed with the Icom R-9500 considering it's price and "cool" look. It suffers from a bunch of anoyances including:

* No 30 KHz filter for WX Sat and other applications
* No way to scan with zero delay (min is 2 secs)
* Voice Squelch function is practically unusable and cannot be adjusted
* Band changes across HF results in a noticeable "pop"
* Runs hot, and has a noisy fan
* Bandscope is more of a novelty than anything really useful
* Has a built in RTTY decoder that is practically useless - and that is the only decoder
* Firmware was last updated once, just after release of the product.

All in all, it is a terrific receiver, but it could certainly be a lot more and better. It seems like it is a great platform that could have been built upon by Icom, but they just seem to have neglected it.

All in all, my favorite receiver that I own is the AR5000+3 - you can configure and tweak a zillion different things with it - and it is a superb receiver.

I dream that one day Icom puts out an updated firmware that really upgrades this platform to something special - especially considering the SDR market has already rolled out products that far surpass the capabilities of the R9500.
 
Last edited:

w2xq

Mentor
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
2,358
Location
Burlington County, NJ
FWIW, I solved the "hot" running problem of the receivers and transceivers (assuming there were 12vdc input jacks) I've used over the years by running everything off an external regulated power supply (Astron 50a and 20a here). Regulation is better than any of the built-in supplies. The JRC 525 and 535 run stone-cold. Those shack thingies not running on 12vdc for, the most part, run on 5vdc, and a little 5a Lamda supply takes care of those things. Less cords, cooler shack. Maybe that would help.
 

JSTARS03

Monitor
Joined
Jun 10, 2003
Messages
159
Location
Sunny Florida
Awesome

Wow, that is one impressive office with lots of hardware to support it.
The rack really does keep it clean and organized looking.
Awesome.

JSTARS03
 

zguy1243

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
311
Location
Calhoun Georgia
Really like it Lindsay. Very capable setup. I agree with the quality of the AR5000's, bang for the buck. Good looking rack...we just need to get you some lacing bars :)
 

eorange

♦RF Enabled Member♦
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
3,008
Location
Cleveland, OH
Development on RadioReference is done using CENTOS 6 VMware image that runs on the Mac Pro which is able to completely replicate our production environment on one image - web, database, nfs, proxy, audio, archiving etc. I can copy that image to my laptop for mobile development work when needed.
Just wondering - how much data (MB? GB?) do you typically keep locally when doing DEV/QA work?
 

gewecke

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
7,452
Location
Illinois
Nice station lindsay! :)

I would have never guessed RR was possible from a neighborhood governed by a HOA ...interesting!
Thanks for all your hard work too!

73,
n9zas
 

weeksben1

Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
86
Location
Clarkston MI
Rack Info

Lindsay,

What is the make and model of the equipment rack you're using, I've got some network gear I'm looking to rack up and that looks like it might work for my application.

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top