RadioShack Pro-18

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seanm214

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
113
Location
Kings Park, NY
Hello,

I recently purchased a used RadioShack pro-18 scanner. I’m using it to try and scan the Suffolk County police department trunked Motorola Smartnet system on Long Island NY. This is currently a phase one system however they are going to eventually switch to P25 phase 2 so I bought this scanner because it was phase 2 compatible. I am having issues trying to program it. I specifically want to scan certain precincts which have their own talk-groups. I thought that I had the correct precinct programmed into the radio but when I turn it on I hear nothing. Sometimes you hear someone talking and then it stops and I know something is not right. I really don’t want my money to go to waste here. Programming must be done on the iscan CPS. Is anyone familiar with this scanner and can help me through programming this system into the scanner. I am new to scanning and this is my first trunking scanner.
Thanks,
Sean
 

w2lie

New York DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
1,460
Location
Long Island, NY
Sean,
At this time, stick with programming the old system. Don't mess with the P25 system right now. It isn't fully built and you may find yourself fighting a scanner that has nothing to listen to.

In addition - the new P25 system is SIMULCAST. Your new Pro-18 won't handle simulcast all that well. That could be part of your problem too.
 

Seanm214

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
113
Location
Kings Park, NY
Sean,
At this time, stick with programming the old system. Don't mess with the P25 system right now. It isn't fully built and you may find yourself fighting a scanner that has nothing to listen to.

In addition - the new P25 system is SIMULCAST. Your new Pro-18 won't handle simulcast all that well. That could be part of your problem too.
Thank you, in the Iscan CPS software it is automatically connected to the Radio Reference database so it was programming the old system. I was not trying to program the new P25 system but rather the old system. However it’s not scanning anything on the old system, only a few transmissions but then nothing after that.
 

tvengr

Well Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
5,673
Location
Baltimore County, MD
A Motorola Smartnet system is not P25. There are two systems. They are in the process of migrating to the P25 system. They are currently shown as operating P25 Phase 1, but the system is capable of Phase 2. The Pro-18 will not receive P25 Phase 2 unless you send it to Whistler for the Legacy Upgrade. That converts it to a WS1080. As w2lie says, you may have problems receiving the P25 simulcast system even if you have the upgrade. If you have problems with Phase 1, you will surely have problems with Phase 2.
 
Last edited:

minasha

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
497
Location
NYC
Thank you, in the Iscan CPS software it is automatically connected to the Radio Reference database so it was programming the old system. I was not trying to program the new P25 system but rather the old system. However it’s not scanning anything on the old system, only a few transmissions but then nothing after that.
Sean,
The Pro-18 doesn't decode Phase ll signals only phase l
To make it work on phase ll you will have to send it to whistler for the legacy upgrade.
 

Seanm214

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
113
Location
Kings Park, NY
A Motorola Smartnet system is not P25. There are two systems. They are in the process of migrating to the P25 system. They are currently shown as operating P25 Phase 1, but the system is capable of phase 2. The Pro-18 will not receive P25 Phase 2 unless you send it to Whistler for the Legacy Upgrade. That converts it to a WS1080. As w2lie says, you may have problems receiving the P25 simulcast system even if you have the upgrade. If you have problems with Phase 1, you will surely have problems with Phase 2.
Yes, I understand about the new phase 2 system but I am not concerned about the phase 2 system right now. I’m just curious how to scan the current phase 1 system which should not require an upgrade. Sorry if I didn’t use correct wording I’m new to all of this but just want to know the best way to scan the current phase1 system with this software.
 

Seanm214

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
113
Location
Kings Park, NY
Sean,
The Pro-18 doesn't decode Phase ll signals only phase l
To make it work on phase ll you will have to send it to whistler for the legacy upgrade.
Yes, I understand that. I am currently trying to scan Suffolk county P25 phase 1 not the phase 2 system.
 

tvengr

Well Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
5,673
Location
Baltimore County, MD
The P25 Phase 1 and Phase 2 is the same system. The Phase 2 capable system is currently operating as Phase 1. The old Motorola system is not P25 and therefore is not Phase 1 or Phase 2.
 
Last edited:

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
9,974
Location
NW Tenn
Hello,

I recently purchased a used RadioShack pro-18 scanner. I’m using it to try and scan the Suffolk County police department trunked Motorola Smartnet system on Long Island NY. This is currently a phase one system however they are going to eventually switch to P25 phase 2 so I bought this scanner because it was phase 2 compatible. I am having issues trying to program it. I specifically want to scan certain precincts which have their own talk-groups. I thought that I had the correct precinct programmed into the radio but when I turn it on I hear nothing. Sometimes you hear someone talking and then it stops and I know something is not right. I really don’t want my money to go to waste here. Programming must be done on the iscan CPS. Is anyone familiar with this scanner and can help me through programming this system into the scanner. I am new to scanning and this is my first trunking scanner.
Thanks,
Sean
 

fredva

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
1,950
Location
Virginia/West Virginia
Please note what tvengr says. The fact that you have an old system and a new system in your county doesn't make your old system Phase 1, even though the new system is designated as Phase 2. Phase 1 and Phase 2 are specific technical standards in the industry.
 
Last edited:

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
7,181
Location
Fortunately, GA
Yes, I understand that. I am currently trying to scan Suffolk county P25 phase 1 not the phase 2 system.
No Phase I for Suffolk county. It is a Motorola Type II that uses P-25 TGID's. There is a band plan that must be entered into the scanner. Either manually, or with software. Otherwise, the system won't scan properly.
 

Seanm214

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
113
Location
Kings Park, NY
No Phase I for Suffolk county. It is a Motorola Type II that uses P-25 TGID's. There is a band plan that must be entered into the scanner. Either manually, or with software. Otherwise, the system won't scan properly.
Thank you that was the reason it wasn’t working. Thank you so much
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top