Rookie with a scanner needs help

Status
Not open for further replies.

angie6556

Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
5
Hello,

I have a Whistler WS1040 handheld. I manually programmed a couple codes on my scanner. Some of them are VERY hard to hear, It's all static. I've turned the squelch down all the way and back up just until the static goes away. Is there a way that I can just connect my radio to the computer and it adds the ones I want?
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
9,532
Location
Dallas, TX
The only "Whistler software" that I've seen are the versions of EZ-Scan for the database scanners
 

RaleighGuy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
7,154
Location
Raleigh, NC
I'm very sorry, but I really know NOTHING about scanners. I had an old analog desk top one, that was easy. but this is not. Not yet anyway. Will that software be free since I already paid for this subscription or is that a separate web page?
Both software packages have a free trial after that you have to purchase the license key. The software is not from or part of Radio Reference but offered by a different company, you can, however, use your paid RR subscription to easily import systems and freqs into the scanner.
 

angie6556

Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
5
Both software packages have a free trial after that you have to purchase the license key. The software is not from or part of Radio Reference but offered by a different company, you can, however, use your paid RR subscription to easily import systems and freqs into the scanner.
Yes, that's really all I want to do. Import local channels
 

tvengr

Well Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
5,684
Location
Baltimore County, MD
Do you have a programming cable? It should have come with the scanner if you bought it new. I use Butel ARC500 software. What is your city, county, and state and what do you want to receive?
 

RaleighGuy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
7,154
Location
Raleigh, NC
Do you have a programming cable? It should have come with the scanner if you bought it new. I use Butel ARC500 software. What is your city, county, and state and what do you want to receive?
Unless bought new, ie refurbished/scratch and dent, I don't believe programming cables come with the WS1040.
 

angie6556

Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
5
Do you have a programming cable? It should have come with the scanner if you bought it new. I use Butel ARC500 software. What is your city, county, and state and what do you want to receive?
Yes, I bought it new. I have a cable that came with it. I want to receive Lorain, Ohio PD, Fire and if possible life care, also Sheffield Village PD
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top