SC Roll Call

stevez97

Premium Subscriber
Name: Steve
Radios: TK-290, TK-2180, TK-3180, Yaesu VX-5R, Yaesu FTM-400, Rfinder B1, Anytone 878, Unication G5, Uniden SDS100, Uniden BC125AT
Monitor: Primarily local police and fire, local amateur repeaters, DMR talkgroups; Secondarily aircraft, EMS

gegatesSC

Premium Subscriber
New Guy in Myrtle Beach area. Even though I am an electrical engineer and have worked SIGINT and radar for military applications I’ve oddly never delved into this area. After hanging with some folks I learned of low cost SDRs, and my mother wanted a scanner for Christmas. So…after she got her bearcat trunk tracker I found this site, considering I had about 30 minutes to learn how to program it to her local P25 (FreeScan and RR made that happen) I also have extensive software, networking and Linux experience so this seems like great fun. May even jump up to hosting a broadcastify stream once I see what’s missing in my local region.

I’m getting a bunch of NooElec nano threes in a few days so I’ll probably tap into local p25 to start. Who knows where I’ll go from there. Wifey might like a PI based scanner. Might chuck a 1U server in my comms rack next to my attic and pull off some work there. Anything goes!

I suffer from too many hobbies…but was only a matter of time before this happened I guess.

stevez97

Premium Subscriber
Even though I have an SDS100 and Unication G5, I've thought about jumping into the SDR area to see what it's all about. It certainly sounds like a good deal of fun at a minimal cost. I'll look forward to following your progress. Keep us updated!!!

gegatesSC

Premium Subscriber
Even though I have an SDS100 and Unication G5, I've thought about jumping into the SDR area to see what it's all about. It certainly sounds like a good deal of fun at a minimal cost. I'll look forward to following your progress. Keep us updated!!!
Certainly will! Thanks!

-Geoff

gegatesSC

Premium Subscriber