shortwave antenna...

Status
Not open for further replies.

chrcey

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
16
Location
hosuton tx
I got a nice shortwave for Christmas and would like to add a antenna to it and really be able to enjoy the radio....

I could use some info on where to tune in so some great radio show..

Thanks for all your help..
Chris.
 

chrcey

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
16
Location
hosuton tx
I can"t believe i did not say what radio I have.. Sorry about that..

I have the Grundig/eton S350DL
 

chrcey

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
16
Location
hosuton tx
I was looking those slinky antenna that are 85ft long on ebay.. But I know nothing about them....
 

k9rzz

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2005
Messages
3,162
Location
Milwaukee, WI
Honestly, save your money because I don't think you'll hear any more with the slinky than you will with just a piece of wire. They are more important for ham operators who need to transmit on a tuned antenna. Additionally, the connectors on your radio won't be compatable.

You won't be missing out with just a piece of wire. Really.

Edit: if you're dying to buy something that will help, think about a simple antenna tuner



http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/preamps/2964.html

http://cgi.ebay.com/NIB-MFJ-956-SHORTWAVE-PRESELECTOR-TUNER_W0QQitemZ360219424658QQcmdZViewItemQQptZShortwave_Radios?hash=item53dec03792

I use one of these and they work great.
 
Last edited:

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
22,084
Location
Bowie, Md.
Watch how much wire you put on that radio. If memory serves, it's a single conversion set - so you're going to be hearing stuff in places they shouldn't be. Overloading it with too much wire is simply going to make things worse.

As for English schedules, I would highly recommend the NASWA spreadsheet, which I understand now has a separate worksheet for this. It's available from this website. (anything in blue is a link). You will need a program like WinZip to extract the compressed file.

73 Mike
 

Ken_Allen

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
102
If you use too much wire on the grundigs, they overload and image VERY easily.

810 and 1540 locally come in on every single channel on my little G5. I can still get in people from europe and all over the world.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top