• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Uniden 396 Display

Status
Not open for further replies.

BFIFM790

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
111
What is the numbers on the top right corner of the display when stopped on a channel.

I see like 3.76 alot


Thanks for the help
 

DaveNF2G

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2001
Messages
9,243
Location
Rensselaer, NY
As they say in court, "Asked and answered."

Try searching the forums. There is already an extensive thread on this very topic.
 

blueline_308

Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
155
Location
Eastern, NC
I have a 330 and it has the batt voltage as the 396 does, but tell me this. With 3 1.2 volt AA batts, how can the voltage EVER be over 3.6 volts. Mine will start out at 4.5 volts sometimes and go into low batt alert at 3.5. What is it measuring?
 

gsxr4000

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
23
blueline_308 said:
I have a 330 and it has the batt voltage as the 396 does, but tell me this. With 3 1.2 volt AA batts, how can the voltage EVER be over 3.6 volts. Mine will start out at 4.5 volts sometimes and go into low batt alert at 3.5. What is it measuring?


I get the same thing, and it leaves me puzzled as well. But yet when it's plugged into the wall, it reads 0.00??
 

rdale

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
11,356
Location
Lansing, MI
Batteries always give more than the rating when they are full. If they started out at 1.2, as soon as they start to give out power they'd be below 1.2 and therefore useless.
 

slicerwizard

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
5,387
Location
Toronto, Ontario
gsxr4000 said:
I get the same thing, and it leaves me puzzled as well.
Freshly charged NiMH cells can hit about 1.5 volts per cell. That totals 4.5V

But yet when it's plugged into the wall, it reads 0.00??
Because you have your internal switch set to ALKALINE - the batteries are disconnected.
 

Codeman

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
95
The voltage normally associated with a given battery is called nominal. It's basically a value used when designing circuits, kind of a reference value. New or freshly charged cells always have slightly higher voltages, whereas the voltages at the end of useful charge is always lower.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top