Which Affordable Analog Handheld Scanner Should I buy - (I see 4 choices)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Samyham

So I'm looking for an affordable analog handheld scanner. I've narrowed it down to 4 choices but other recommendations are very welcome. I have some air-time experience and have a General license but I'm new to scanners.

Bearcat BC125AT, Bearcat SR30C (Turbo search), Bearcat BC75XLT, Whistler WS1010, other?

The 125AT seems most popular; SR30C has a Turbo search feature and advertised as entry level which sound good to me; I read Whistler WS1010 is good, entry-level-friendly but has only 200 memory channels (and 10 banks). Is 200 channels more than enough?

I sure would appreciate any recommendations and/or thoughts on the above 4. Or any others that might be as good or better. But I am talking about under $150 price tag. Thank you.

Last edited:

Samyham

Hey, thanks guys!! Man, that was fast. I'll watch this thread for another day or two but I won't be surprised if any other posters agree. Thanks again!

west-pac

You can get an analog VHF/UHF handheld radio that is less expensive than a scanner, and since you have a general license, you can talk on that radio as well. Heck, some of those radios are around $25. You could get 2 of them for ~$50, and have each one scan different frequencies.

Personally, I, myself, would not buy a brand new handheld analog scanner. For a couple reasons.

1) You can find used analog scanners at garage sales and online marketplaces for as little as $1. I just bought a Radio Shack Pro-2017 for $1 at a garage sale last week; and I bought a Uniden BCT-15X for $40 on FB Marketplace last week also. People get rid of used analog scanners for dirt cheap because most places have moved over to digital radio systems, and these casual scanner listeners don't think their analog scanners are worth anything if they can't hear police and fire departments.