Why did this antenna work so well?

Hello Antenna Experts,

NOTE: This is all in the 10m band.

I didn't feel like raising my dipole antenna one evening, so I decided to experiment and make a "random long wire antenna". I have never done this before.

I didn't even measure but its around 60 to 70 feet of an old 2 wire extension cable with the ends snipped off. I stripped the black and white wires on both ends and twisted them together so it was "one wire"

I stuck the one end into my manual tuning box, and strung the other end horizontally across my lawn to a patio. It was only hanging about 3-4 ft. off the ground. It was a serious pain to tune up. I could barely get it below 2 on the swr meter.

However I noticed I was receiving quite a few stations. I stumbled across a 10m net open to taking check ins from distant stations. Not expecting it to work at all, I threw out my call. Sure enough I got very strong and clear audio reports from the members of this net over 500 miles away.

I was then able to make contacts about 200 miles south of me in my neighboring state. Those operators were quite surprised to be hearing someone so close to them.

I was then able to make contacts in a distant state over 1000 miles away.

So this random piece of extension cord ended up getting me more contacts in one night than I have had in weeks with my dipole hung up high from a tree. Albeit, most of my dipole contacts have been out of the country, but still.

So my question is, why did this work so well? What principal was at play here? Are random wire antennas just that good? Or was it just a fantastic band opening and I got lucky? Did the fact that it was two wires twisted around each other make it behave differently than if it was a single wire?