Premium Subscriber
Hello, Anyone using that WinRadio Receiving only
common mode choke CM 30. ?

Effective ? Caveats ?
Thoughts on ?

What’s the lower freq. limit ?

Thanks,
Bob
Specs show the freq range from DC to 30 MHz so the lower limit is basically as low as you can go. I've never used their choke before so I can't answer your question as to its effectiveness.

BOBRR

Hello,

This is "a bit more" on CMC that I posted yesterday:

Came across a gadget I had ordered, and never used, some years ago.

Would like to learn a bit more about it.

It's a Common Model Choke from the WinRadio folks.
Model: CMC-30

Anyone using ?

*What's "likely" inside ? (can't open case).
They say the response is dc to 30 MHz, but this can't be true, can it ?
If a trans. or toroid, there is likely the typical low freq. rolloff ?

Why do they say to ground it ?

I do receiving only; long wire ant. outside, a UnUn, and a coax run to house.
Be a bit of a pain hooking it up, even at radio end.
Think it's worth doing ?

Any thoughts on this would be most appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob

prcguy

Hello,

This is "a bit more" on CMC that I posted yesterday:

Came across a gadget I had ordered, and never used, some years ago.

Would like to learn a bit more about it.

It's a Common Model Choke from the WinRadio folks.
Model: CMC-30

Anyone using ?

*What's "likely" inside ? (can't open case).
They say the response is dc to 30 MHz, but this can't be true, can it ?
If a trans. or toroid, there is likely the typical low freq. rolloff ?

Why do they say to ground it ?

I do receiving only; long wire ant. outside, a UnUn, and a coax run to house.
Be a bit of a pain hooking it up, even at radio end.
Think it's worth doing ?

Any thoughts on this would be most appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob