Questions and Concerns on P25 and Simulcast - New SDS-200 Owner

wolverine871

Just a heads up, I am very new to scanners and radios so if I make any mistakes I'd like you to please inform me.

Background:​

I recently bought an SDS200 because I've heard really good things about them. I live in the Charlotte, NC area and have looked at the Charlotte UASI page quite a bit. I see that they are using P25p1 and that Mecklenburg County is on a simulcast system. Considering the county utilizes simulcast I figured the SDS200 would work really well in this area.

I am using the SDS200 inside of my house and have tried using the stock antenna it ships with and have also tried this antenna from Amazon.

Questions and Concerns:​

I have imported the Charlotte UASI system from Sentinel to a favorites list which includes multiple sites: Mecklenburg Simulcast, Union Simulcast, Cabarrus Simulcast, [TEMP] - Steele Creek, Mooresville, Gastonia Simulcast, and Stanly Simulcast. From what I understand, all of these sites make up multiple towers that repeat the digital signals over a broader area. I have it in my mind that the towers are "meshed together" and therefore if somebody transmits on the south side of the city you'd still be able to hear them just as well from the north side if you're relatively near one of the simulcast towers.