820T2 stops working in Unitrunker. Ideas?

Status
Not open for further replies.

B-One

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
97
My DVB-T+FM+DAB 820T2 & SDR dongles shut down after operating for various lengths of time. These are the inexpensive blue dongles found on ebay.

Sometimes they run for hours, sometimes for only minutes. If I close Unitrunker, unplug my powered hub, replug in the hub and restart Unitrunker the setup works again for a period of time.

Diagnostics...
This happens on two computers.
The powered hub has been replaced and the problem continues.
This issue does not occur with my Nano / Micro dongles.

Any ideas what the issue could be? What could I check?
 

rbm

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
1,394
Location
Upstate New York
Make sure than the computer is not allowed to turn off power to the hub.
I think, by default, the box is checked.

Rich

Edit: It will vary slightly between versions of Windows.

Windows 7 shown below:

Control Panel -> Device Manager -> Universal Serial Bus Controllers
Select the appropriate hub.
Power Management tab.

 
Last edited:

B-One

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
97
Done! I will report back after I have allowed the system to run for awhile.

Thank you very much for responding Rich. Your assistance is appreciated.
 

B-One

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
97
No luck. I have disabled window's ability to shut down all of my USB ports and that has not solved my problem. The Nano dongles also shut down.

Puzzled.
 

rbm

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
1,394
Location
Upstate New York
Sorry to hear that.

The only time I had a problem like that was several years ago when I first got some dongles.

I wasn't using powered ports then and the ports ware 'starved' for power.
Never had another problem after I started using powered ports.

Have you tried plugging a dongle directly into the computer to see if it keeps running?

On all of my computers, I never let them go to sleep.
I just let the hard drives spin down after a period of inactivity.

Rich

Stop computer from going to sleep:

 

B-One

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
97
I am pretty stumped. Both of the hubs I have tried have been powered. My computer has been set not to sleep, shut down or suspend in any manner. Maybe it's the extension cable from my hub to the computer. I will have to give that a try when I get a chance.
 

cpetraglia

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2003
Messages
795
Location
Fairfax, VA
I don't see where you have tried plugging directly into your USB on board the PC. I would try that before I panicked.
 

rbm

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
1,394
Location
Upstate New York
I did have a problem with an extension cable for my first USB 3.0 powered hub a few years ago. (You could hear it disconnect and reconnect again.)

If you just touched it, you'd loose the ports.

Replaced the cable and it's been working for the last 3 years or so without any problems.

Rich
 

B-One

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
97
It appears to have been the USB extension cable. I haven't had a ton of time to mess with things, but after dinking around for awhile I rearranged my entire desktop to be able to plug the usb hub directly into my computer. All has been running well since.

Thanks to all that helped.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top