• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

996t

Status
Not open for further replies.

mpdonala

Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
88
Location
Colorado Springs
Does anyone have one of these yet? Would you share how you got it to work on the State system or anywhere else. I typed in the El Paso Cnty system and I am unable to here anything on both systems. Thanks Mark
 

jimmnn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
14,327
Location
Colorado
mpdonala said:
Come on someone in Colo must have the new scanner!
Mark, Check your PM and yes a number of us are using the 996T.

Jim<
 

luke-1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
611
Location
Parker, CO
Hey Mark, and anyone else trying to figure this software out-

The first thing is to make sure you have entered the key code. Without it you cannot write to the radio. There are no instructions that I have seen on how to enter this, Here is how- 1. Click on the "write to scanner" tab. 2. On the first screen that comes up, click on the "Setup" tab. 3. Click "Registration" and enter the key. If you have already done this properly, you can not choose this option.

When you have your new system ready to write, or when you have made any changes to an existing system and are ready to write, there is one important step you must do before you write it. 1. Go to the "Configuration Editor" and click on one of the systems listed to get you to the next screen. 2. Click on the "Systems" tab. If the system you made changes to is listed in the left column, highlight it and click "Delete from configuration". 3. Find the system on the right column, highlight it, and click "add from database". You must do this for any systems you made changes to. If it is a new system it will not be listed in the left column, you can skip step 2 above. Basically what you are doing in this step is telling the software that you want to remove the old system, and rewrite it with any changes you made. Or in the case of a completely new system, you are telling it that you have a new one to write.

Now you are ready to "Write to scanner"

This software is not easy to understand at first, if you or anyone else needs more help, PM me and I will hopefully walk you through it.

Luke
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,287
Location
Arlington, TX
When you have your new system ready to write, or when you have made any changes to an existing system and are ready to write, there is one important step you must do before you write it. 1. Go to the "Configuration Editor" and click on one of the systems listed to get you to the next screen. 2. Click on the "Systems" tab. If the system you made changes to is listed in the left column, highlight it and click "Delete from configuration". 3. Find the system on the right column, highlight it, and click "add from database".
This is unnecessary. The software always writes the latest version of the system file to the scanner, regardless of when it was added to the configuration.
 

luke-1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
611
Location
Parker, CO
It has never worked for me with the 996 or the 396 without those steps

Luke
 

mpdonala

Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
88
Location
Colorado Springs
Thanks

Thanks to all that gave me help. I have the radio up and working. Alot of trial and error and reprograming. Thanks Again. Mark
 

jimmnn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
14,327
Location
Colorado
Nice review in the July issue of Monitoring Times for anyone considering purchasing this new radio.

Jim<
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top