A Goubau Line

Sheepdog777

AE0TO
I'm curious how it was decided that "pulling with a tractor" was not affecting the wire. Before I retired I worked with many types of wire but never came across a "tension" rating for common wire. While it may exist, I would be concerned about the characteristics of the insulation versus the wire as it stretched. (I'm assuming there was no parallel support wire in the run.)
I supremely appreciate a woman with enough grit to have a lab and use a Field Expedient method to tension antenna wire with a Tractor in an old school configuration... That's Classy AF and If'in I Twern't married to my absolutely "Precious as Rubies" beautiful wife, then.... I'd be... um... Single.

Gonn go ahead and shut up now... Need to Brows Moar...

;)
o7

Oh Wow ! Guys !

I had no idea when I posted this it would evolve so gloriously ! :)

I should have prefaced at the outset that I am by no means an expert on this feedline- or any feedline, for that matter. My background with the G-Line goes back to the years when I would demonstrate them to undergrads, back when I was a TA. The extent of my understand'ng is pretty much detailed in what I have already said. But I can fill in a few details.

The wire was ( yes past tense now- more on this to follow )-- was a special find that the guys in the machine shop located for me. It was a thousand foot spool of number ten copperweld wire, coat'd with an epoxy resin. What this wire was originally intended for -who knew-- but all I was looking for was that it be 'insulated'--- and I settled for the epoxy which worked fine, though I had used vinyl covered wires in my teaching days.

There was no intermediate support for the wire- it ran quite vertically from a barn roof- up to the top of the rock cliff that over shadows my place-- in one big swoop. I never figured it would last and the last storm proved the point -- but what is the old ham saying ?

If your antenna stay'd up all winter it wasn't big enuff