BCD436HP wont connect in serial port mode

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tim-B

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
397
Location
Lafayette, LA
I am using ProScan with various scanners for programming and control and for recording new talkgroups, etc. It works well with all the scanners except my 436 and 536. When I connect the programming cable to the scanner and press the decimal/no button for serial connect mode the computer gives me a "baw baw bomp" denial tone. I am running windows 7 on a laptop. I went to windows device manager and it says all usb ports are working properly an that the drivers are up to date. I have usb to serial drivers installed for other older scanners and they work fine with the same laptop. Any ideas of what I can try?
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
4,868
Location
Ontario, Calif.
I am using ProScan with various scanners for programming and control and for recording new talkgroups, etc. It works well with all the scanners except my 436 and 536. When I connect the programming cable to the scanner and press the decimal/no button for serial connect mode the computer gives me a "baw baw bomp" denial tone. I am running windows 7 on a laptop. I went to windows device manager and it says all usb ports are working properly an that the drivers are up to date. I have usb to serial drivers installed for other older scanners and they work fine with the same laptop. Any ideas of what I can try?
First check that you have the correct driver. Here is the page that has the link to the driver.
http://info.uniden.com/twiki/bin/view/UnidenMan4/BCD436HP

Next click the Auto Detect button located in the Comm. Port settings of the menu and see what happens. Alternatively, go to the Windows Device Manager and note the comm. port number and set the ProScan comm. port number the same.
 

Tim-B

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
397
Location
Lafayette, LA
Dude you rock, thank you, that did it. Now instead of "baw baw bomp" I now get "ba BOMP" and the scanner is working fine with proscan.
 

WD6ABC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
66
Location
Santa Ana, Ca.
Selection on startup via Serial port

It sure would be nice to be able to select remotely the serial or USB Mass storage choice. Then the radio could be programmed remotely.
Anyone know of a way to do that??
Using ver 1.18.0

WD6ABC
John B
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
12,962
Location
VA
Read the 1.17.00 release notes.
 

WD6ABC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
66
Location
Santa Ana, Ca.
Remote Commands-UpMan

UpMan, is there a newer command listing available??
I only found the one on the Uniden WiKi site. MSM not listed there.

Thanks !
John Bush
WD6ABC
 

UPMan

In Memoriam
Uniden Representative
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,296
Location
Arlington, TX
MSM was just added a week or two ago. I don't have a revised reference.
 

WD6ABC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
66
Location
Santa Ana, Ca.
New Remote Commands

Appreciate any other new commands.
Writing software for remoting the x36HP scanner & hopefully the SDS100.

Thanks again
John Bush
Rem Scan Products
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top