Bcd996t install options

Status
Not open for further replies.

timenright

I am new to this hobby and am very excited to get started. We are designing a custom coach from the ground up and want to add a scanner and we want to make sure we do things right.

Our selection for the scanner is the Uniden BDC996T. Our choice of antenna is the Austin Spectra. The scanner will have a persistent connection to the onboard computer. We would like to tie the scanner audio to the stereo in the coach.

Where should the antenna be located in order to provide the best performance? Should it be placed as far away from electronics and engine compartment as possible? How about other antennas?

Our onboard computer does not have a serial connection. Can I assume that the USB cable offered by Uniden is our only option? Will a standard USB cable work?

There looks like there are three possible jacks available for connecting audio equipment; Phones, Rec and Ext Spkr - all are 3.5mm jacks. We need a connection to the PC for possible recording and we need a connection to the car stereo for casual listening.

The phones are a stereo jack, 30mW nominal into a 32 ohm speaker. The Extension Speaker is monaural type jack and I think it is 2.6W nominal into 8 ohm speaker but I am not sure. The Rec is stereo type jack but there is no mention of how this jack is powered. I don’t know if I should connect it to the microphone or audio in jack.

To enable recording there are two options that need to be set; setting System Record (all channels) and Set Record (on). Will this alone send a continuous audio feed out the REC jack no matter what channel the scanner is currently on or do I have to specify each channel or group that I would like to record?

I could test through this stuff myself but we don’t have the scanner yet and we are engineering these pieces to work together prior to their arrival.

Thank you …

… tim

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin