Can someone explain whats going on? SDR P25 phase 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

rumfordsa

Premium Subscriber
So after a week of trial and error I've finally managed to get my SDR dongles to pick up and decode Apco 25 phase 1. So here's the issue I have now. I've plugged in the control frequency for the county I wanted to monitor off of radio reference's database and everything works a little to well. I'm new to this whole digital radio system but is it normal to pick up agencies off frequency. To explain a little better the frequencies I'm mongering are for Ford county Kansas. I'm picking up radio traffic for Clark, Hodgeman, Gray, and Finney counties as well. None of which share control channels or any other channels/frequencies for that matter. Can someone explain whats going on?

EDIT: Here is the link to the frequencies referenced above:
http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=4390

Last edited:

rumfordsa

Premium Subscriber
probably it is just that they are affiliating with your local tower and you can hear them.

But in order for them to be affiliated wouldn't they share the same frequencies or control channel? These are radioing to a different communications department all together.

boatbod

Trunked radio systems can share many different talkgroups on their network of sites. The link you provided lists all the agencies and associated tgid values. If you want to only receive specific agencies communication, you need to configure your software to only play those specific tgids

rumfordsa

Premium Subscriber
Trunked radio systems can share many different talkgroups on their network of sites. The link you provided lists all the agencies and associated tgid values. If you want to only receive specific agencies communication, you need to configure your software to only play those specific tgids

So how would I go about limiting the talk group ids

rumfordsa

Premium Subscriber
Yea, I'm running DSD+ and Unitrunker. What are you running OP25 on?