• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

CMS questions - editing channels outside the CMS, import/export contacts, etc.

thegoop

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2023
Messages
15
Location
Austin
I am trying to be more efficient using the CMS with PD362i's:
  1. Is there a way to export channels then edit/modify the channel setup outside of the CMS and import it back? Like a normal data plug? I want to add a bunch of sequential channels, and it would be easier in delimited file vs. having to go through screens.
  2. Every time I try to export contacts, I get an error "Cannot find the Excel driver." But, the only output format it gives me is .xls (and not .csv or anything else). CMS is installed on a Windows 10 machine that does not have Microsoft Office. Does anybody know what driver I need (I tried to add the Access runtime driver and the Visual Studio redistribution runtime).
For now, what I am doing is saving the full configuration, then loading that back into a new radio. But then I need to and make sure I update the Radio Alias, DMR ID, and tweak the contact list. There has got to be an easier way!

Thanks!
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
1,307
Export needs office, maybe open office or Libre would work. The files are password protected, maybe you can search and find it.
A slightly quicker way to add channels is to do this.
In the channel tab right click on the channel name and use copy, then right click - insert, then right click to past to duplicate the channel. You have to change the name as it defaults to CH A1, 2, etc.

I"m not aware of any easier way to add channels.
 

YL3IM

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
105
Location
KO26BX
The export .xls file is password protected against editing. You still can create a new one and copy/paste the contents into it, then edit everything and import the new file thereafter.

AFAIK, PD36x series only can export/import conventional contacts, not the channels. Also, importing either contacts or channels does reset the respective settings for contacts/zones/channels. Conventional channel export doesn't contain all fields either — you'll have to set up them manually after import.
 

thegoop

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2023
Messages
15
Location
Austin
Thanks - what a pain in the rear. I want to add ~100 channels to a set of PD362 radios, some of which are slightly different models so the .rcd files won't load from one to the other. Ugh!
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
1,307
I worked with a Motorola shop that added about 100 Vertex radios into a large Trbo system. Each Trbo had a user name and ID we had to add to the new radios and then update the Trbos with the Vertex info. Even the the CPS looked identical you can't, or could not at the time, copy names and IDs over to the Vertex CPS.

Fortunately the shop sent a sales guy to assist with the rollout so I had him type in half the names and I did the other, then merged the 2 files.
My dyslexia added a few new employee names to the initial list...
 

SP2

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Messages
3
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Password protection on an .xls file can be displayed (also to unlock), Google is your friend (hint: vbs scripting)
 

YL3IM

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
105
Location
KO26BX
Contact and Channel export files from PD/MD/X1p series are password protected from editing. Here's how to workaround it.

ALT + F11
Double click on the workbook
Copy the code on the right
Press the play button (execute macro) and let it run.
Takes a little time depending on the length of the password.

unprotect-1.jpgunprotect-2.jpg

Code:
Option Explicit
Sub GetPass()
    Const a = 65, b = 66, c = 32, d = 126
    Dim i#, j#, k#, l#, m#, n#, o#, p#, q#, r#, s#, t#
    With ActiveSheet
        If .ProtectContents Then
            On Error Resume Next
            For i = a To b
                For j = a To b
                    For k = a To b
                        For l = a To b
                            For m = a To b
                                For n = a To b
                                    For o = a To b
                                        For p = a To b
                                            For q = a To b
                                                For r = a To b
                                                    For s = a To b
                                                        For t = c To d
            .Unprotect Chr(i) & Chr(j) & Chr(k) & Chr(l) & Chr(m) & _
            Chr(n) & Chr(o) & Chr(p) & Chr(q) & Chr(r) & Chr(s) & Chr(t)
                                                        Next t
                                                    Next s
                                                Next r
                                            Next q
                                        Next p
                                    Next o
                                Next n
                            Next m
                        Next l
                    Next k
                Next j
            Next i
            MsgBox "Finished"
        End If
    End With
End Sub

Please note the importing will fail if an Excel sheet is unprotected. Protect (no password is required) it before importing.
 
Last edited:

thegoop

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2023
Messages
15
Location
Austin
Very cool, thanks. Can someone confirm that Channel information is part of the PD export, because the menu item simply says "Export Contracts". I am worried that this is a red herring. YL3IM stated the following, which suggests even if the Excel is exported and editable, I won't be able to reimport and update other radios.

AFAIK, PD36x series only can export/import conventional contacts, not the channels. Also, importing either contacts or channels does reset the respective settings for contacts/zones/channels. Conventional channel export doesn't contain all fields either — you'll have to set up them manually after import.
 
Top