• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Computer windows 95 98 program spectra or saber

Status
Not open for further replies.

kb5vai

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
17
What is the fastest computer that you can prohram a spectra and saber with using windows 95 or 98 version software?
 

cmjonesinc

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
1,302
I use a toughbook cf-18 mk5 with an Intel Pentium M 1.2GHz processor. I've never had an issue with it being too fast on either of those radios. I do however just use a flash drive with dos on it and not win 95 or 98. My toughbook cf-19 mk3 with the CoreTM 2 Duo 1.2Ghz does have some issues with some older motos but not many that I've tried.
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
3,405
Location
Hubert, NC
You HAVE to boot into REAL DOS. You can use the Win 95 or 98 DOS.
No matter how many times you repeat this sound advice, people will continue to open up a DOS prompt to run the RSS and wonder why they can't communicate or worse, end up bricking their radio. I guess it's because they want to use a mouse? Or is it that they just don't know the commands to type to navigate in DOS? The only radio that I had problems with using a faster computer was the Syntor X9000. Kept an old 486 for that one.
 

kb5vai

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
17
Is this the same for the windows software? Have a 486 with windows 95. Trying to install with backpack cdrom, get error installing.
I thought i rember reading a 386 sx 25 was the fastest you were supposed to use.
 

6079smithw

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2004
Messages
332
Location
Near the Biggest Little City
Have a 486 with windows 95. Trying to install with backpack cdrom, get error installing.
I thought i remember reading a 386 sx 25 was the fastest you were supposed to use.
95 can be iffy on some 486 machines. You're better off with 98SE IMHO. I have it running on a K6 400 mHz and a Pentium II clocked down to 350 mHz with no problems. All with gen-you-wine serial ports of course. Good results with both OEM Moto RIB cables and a couple of Chinesium RJ-45s for Radius mobiles. YMMV, good luck.
 

a417

!#
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
2,820
I've had 95 on to a Pent II - 233 w/o an issue. It was highly contingent on the mobo chipset, IIRC.
 

Project25_MASTR

There's stuff I can't tell you...
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,716
Location
Texas
No matter how many times you repeat this sound advice, people will continue to open up a DOS prompt to run the RSS and wonder why they can't communicate or worse, end up bricking their radio. I guess it's because they want to use a mouse? Or is it that they just don't know the commands to type to navigate in DOS? The only radio that I had problems with using a faster computer was the Syntor X9000. Kept an old 486 for that one.
The Comtegra CPS doesn't like faster stuff.
 

kb5vai

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
17
And would win. Though do have a regular spectra. But yes mainly astro. Sorry for the fighting. Yall figured it out thoygh.
 

kb5vai

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
17
So, theres a difference in programming requirements of astro saber and spectras?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top