DSDPlus - P25

Status
Not open for further replies.

vince48

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 13, 2001
Messages
763
Location
Central Valley, CA.
Greetings

need your help. I like to monitor a P25 phase 1 system. I will pipe in the control channel with VB cable from my SDR and would like to follow the voice channels with my Airspy.

1. what batch file should i use for voice? Do i use DSDPlus, FMP or FMP24?
2. Or should i create a new one.

i'm trying to get teh Airspy to trunk and follow the conversation. I don't want to use dongles.

TIA

vince48
 

slicerwizard

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
5,514
Location
Toronto, Ontario
FMPA-VC.bat to run FMPA and your Airspy

VC.bat to run the VC copy of DSD+


What SDR are you using for the control channel side?

And are you using the SDR# DSD+ plugin? If so, it will screw things up for you.
 

vince48

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 13, 2001
Messages
763
Location
Central Valley, CA.
thanks slicerwizard
I thought you would come through. I'm running my Ettus B200 in SDR Console V3 using VB cabel for the control channel
 

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
4,639
Location
Eastern MA
You need two receivers to get audio. Whether one is Airspy is one and a dongle is the other or whether both are dongles doesn't matter.

I use both set ups with no problem, but you need two receivers. You also have to make sure you enter frequency correction if you use a dongle. Airspy should be dead on and need no tuning.
 

vince48

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 13, 2001
Messages
763
Location
Central Valley, CA.
I am using my Airspy as the voice receiver. I use my SDR which is piped in using VB cable. What am i doing wrong?
 

vince48

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 13, 2001
Messages
763
Location
Central Valley, CA.
yes, I see all the system activity when CC is open CC window is scroling. It's when i open FMPA-VC and VC, i see the frequencies change, but no audio
 

vince48

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 13, 2001
Messages
763
Location
Central Valley, CA.
no, I get this error message in VC DSD+

---------------------------
Error
---------------------------

VC FMPA 2.6 -i1 -o20002



Unrecoverable error encountered:

Exception number = 0xC0000005 (Access Violation)
Instruction address = 0x414007
Action: Write to address 0x1C (28)

Register dump:
DS: 0000002B CS: 00000023 IP: 00414007 EAX: 00000000
ES: 0000002B SS: 0000002B SP: 0707FF44 EBX: 0055FADE
FS: 00000053 Fl: 00010246 EBP: 0707FF50 ECX: 00000070
GS: 0000002B ESI: 0000A613 EDI: 0000000D EDX: 00000000
[Press Ctrl-C to copy this text to the clipboard]
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,524
Location
BEE00
The latest public release FPMA is 2.7.

The latest Fast Lane version of FMPA is 2.9 (released with DSD+ 2.29), and the latest Fast Lane version of FMP24 is 2.19 (released with DSD+ 2.32)
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,524
Location
BEE00
If Vince is decoding a P25 control channel, he's using Fast Lane, so he should be using DSD+ 2.32 and FMPA 2.9, yes?
It's possible that he paid for a one year subscription to Fast Lane, and is using the last version he received before his subscription expired.
 

bharvey2

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
1,177
Greetings

need your help. I like to monitor a P25 phase 1 system. I will pipe in the control channel with VB cable from my SDR and would like to follow the voice channels with my Airspy.

1. what batch file should i use for voice? Do i use DSDPlus, FMP or FMP24?
2. Or should i create a new one.

i'm trying to get teh Airspy to trunk and follow the conversation. I don't want to use dongles.

TIA

vince48
I'm just a stone's throw from you and listen to EBRCS SW. When I'm using SDR dongles with Unitrunker and DSD+, I have the following string in my *.bat file for DSD+: -f1 -mp

The strings makes a substantial difference in voice quality,
 

vince48

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 13, 2001
Messages
763
Location
Central Valley, CA.
thanks,
but i do not have a problem using UT and DSDplus. That setup rocks all day for me. I want to use DSDPlus as a stand alone program with my AirSpy for the voice and my Ettus b200 for the control channel.
 

bharvey2

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
1,177
thanks,
but i do not have a problem using UT and DSDplus. That setup rocks all day for me. I want to use DSDPlus as a stand alone program with my AirSpy for the voice and my Ettus b200 for the control channel.
I'd think that if you can get the audio patched correctly, DSD+ should be able to decode the voice for that as well.

As an aside, did we have a face to face discussion in San Leandro about radios and scanning this past new years eve? Your RR screen name would seem to fit but we didn't discuss RR membership. I may be speaking to another Vince.
 

DSDPlus

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2014
Messages
377
It's possible that he paid for a one year subscription to Fast Lane, and is using the last version he received before his subscription expired.
Due to the slower than desired release rate, no memberships have expired.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top