• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Encrytpion Avoid

Status
Not open for further replies.

LubeckTech

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
153
Location
Parkersburg, WV
I am about to update the firmware in a G5 and would like to know how the encryption avoid works.
Do I have to do anything or is there something I need to do??
 

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
1,149
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
There's an option for it in PPS version 0.3.14, on the D5 screen for a "Trunking TG-Monitor" knob position, but it requires the V1.20 firmware. Both are still in beta, AFAIK.
encr.png
 

LubeckTech

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
153
Location
Parkersburg, WV
I am installing the latest firmware right now but it is 1.10.
Is there a way I could save an encrypted talk group and skip it.
 

trido

Retired
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,102
Location
Southern In
There's an option for it in PPS version 0.3.14, on the D5 screen for a "Trunking TG-Monitor" knob position, but it requires the V1.20 firmware. Both are still in beta, AFAIK.
View attachment 68199
so this enable will be only system wide and not on off per tg.i know some system have mobiles enc but not dispatch.
 

trido

Retired
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,102
Location
Southern In
sorry disregard on that know systems have mobiles enc but not disp that doesnt matter not sure what i was thinking.so setting is system wide,good hope new firmware soon.
 

APX8000

Sarcastic Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
3,703
Location
AES-256 secured
so this enable will be only system wide and not on off per tg.i know some system have mobiles enc but not dispatch.
Will it work on trunking TG Scan or just Monitor ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
1,149
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
Will it work on trunking TG Scan or just Monitor ?
The option is available for TG-Scan too. I've never tested it, because the TG's that are encrypted on the system that I monitor are full-time encrypted, so there's no point in putting them in a scan list :) But if you have TGs that are only sometimes encrypted, it should work.
 

APX8000

Sarcastic Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
3,703
Location
AES-256 secured
Ok thanks. Yeah a few talkgroups I monitor on one system I monitor are not strapped and run in the clear for the most part. But when they flip that switch it became unbearable that I removed them from the scan list.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top