• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

G5 pin out

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holshot14

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2017
Messages
30
Location
SC Penna
I'm trying to figure out the pin outs on the bottom of the G5. Long story short I want to use my amplified charger base as a charger only, and have the audio still come out of the pager. The amplified charger makes a "popping" sound every time the carrier drops off and drives my wife and I insane at night.

Thanks
 

ecarvalho

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757
I know right? the amp is activated by carrier only which is a bad design.
Have you looked into the base manual? I can't right now but maybe there is some interesting info there
 

ecarvalho

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757
So no, the manual does not give information on the pager socket pin-out. I sent Unication support an email asking for perhaps the schematics.
I also need that info. I'm attempting to force the audio amplifier to stay on independently from the carrier. That should theoretically stop the popping. Might be a simple hack... or not.
 

Holshot14

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2017
Messages
30
Location
SC Penna
Ok, great, sounds like a win win with either option. If you receive an update could you please post on this thread?

Thanks
 

cpetraglia

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2003
Messages
858
Location
Fairfax, VA
I know right? the amp is activated by carrier only which is a bad design.
Have you looked into the base manual? I can't right now but maybe there is some interesting info there
If you plug in an external speaker, the popping gets really loud. Not pleasant to hear.
 

tdeater

Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2003
Messages
51
Location
Fremont, MI
I have verified ground, vbat and the charger detect pins. I built my own small drop in charger using those pins. I have not verified the others, but was told by someone at Unication (not Dave) that the pinout is the same.
 

ecarvalho

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757
Good to know. I haven't had a chance to open the base charger/amp from Unication. I want to mod it to stop the audio popping between transmissions.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
4,727
Location
Southeastern Michigan
I have verified ground, vbat and the charger detect pins. I built my own small drop in charger using those pins. I have not verified the others, but was told by someone at Unication (not Dave) that the pinout is the same.
What did you use to make this?

Sent via Tapatalk
 

pike63

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
41
Just picked up a G5 so I'm very new to these but wondered too how you made a drop in charger. Could you share a few pictures please? VHF signal around here sucks so it would be nice to make something to drop it into and get it on a better VHF antenna without using the amp charger
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
4,727
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Just picked up a G5 so I'm very new to these but wondered too how you made a drop in charger. Could you share a few pictures please? VHF signal around here sucks so it would be nice to make something to drop it into and get it on a better VHF antenna without using the amp charger
You could use a VHF antenna made for a Motorola XTS series, in place of the one that came with the pager.

Sent via Tapatalk
 

pike63

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
41
I need to improve the VHF coverage on the pager so if I understand what I have read the antenna connection is only good for the 7/800 band. Looks like if I could connect to the contacts on the bottom it would be for the VHF side. Would be nice to have sitting here on the table because the county VHF system is not good here
 

sfd119

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
1,743
You could use a VHF antenna made for a Motorola XTS series, in place of the one that came with the pager.

Sent via Tapatalk
You cannot. The antenna on the pager itself is only for the 700/800mhz band, not VHF.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top