Grand Forks

Status
Not open for further replies.

justinglawe

Greetings,
Forgive me if I'm posting this in the wrong place, but I'm new to using this site in any capacity other than to access frequencies. I'm also new to the Grand Forks area.

I've programmed in virtually all police, fire and EMS frequencies I've found on here into my Radio Shack Pro-164 portable. Still, hardly anything.

I had a Pro-96 in Bemidji that worked great by just programming in frequencies but, alas, it was stolen. The Pro-164 came with a ton of frequencies programmed so I wiped it and started over.

I'm hardly getting anything.

I don't think Grand Forks and EGF are on a trunked system, so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
JG

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
Bad news I'm afraid - as best as I can tell, the Radio Shack 164 doesn't receive digital (aka P25) transmissions. I believe most everything in Grand Forks is digital. On the "East Side" EGF PD appears to have converted to a digital system, but the fire department remains analog.

They are all conventional systems (a few years ago, Grand Forks had been on a trunked system, but they switched back to conventional).

Based on my trips to the area in 2012, you'll find the GF PD to be the most talkative, GF Fire makes a couple of calls each day, EGF PD is a typical small town with not a lot of radio traffic and the EGF fire has even less radio traffic.

On the sheriff side, the Grand Forks SO will do some traffic stops every now and then and I don't recall hearing much out of the Polk SO. (Polk SO did have a patch on their VHF frequency to the ARMER system and I did catch some transmissions on the associated talkgroup).

For the State Patrols, you could go hours and not hear much, especially MSP. However since I've been up there, MSP may have migrated to the ARMER system for the Thief River District and a little more radio traffic may be heard.