• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Harris Unity Time Display

FL2WAYRF

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
249
Noticed a quirk on the Unity. Radio is running R06M03 firmware. Time will only display on screen after a GPS lock has occurred. Is this normal or can time be displayed without GPS being used?
 

prcguy

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
10,859
Location
So Cal - Richardson, TX - Tewksbury, MA
I just checked mine and it does take a few minutes from dead start for the time to finally show up. But I didn't buy my radio for a wristwatch and I use my cell phone most of the time as a clock. I don't see the delay as a big problem and one nice thing about being tied to GPS is the time will always be exact and you don't have to manually set it.
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Lead Database Admin
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
5,508
Location
Ohio
I just checked mine and it does take a few minutes from dead start for the time to finally show up. But I didn't buy my radio for a wristwatch and I use my cell phone most of the time as a clock. I don't see the delay as a big problem and one nice thing about being tied to GPS is the time will always be exact and you don't have to manually set it.
I agree, personally; I've got a perfectly good field watch (water resistant to 200m not that I plan to dive more than the deep end of the pool) and my cell phone if I need the time. Unfortunately a number of my customers expect the time to be there on their radio all day, every day as soon as they power up, and I'm often fielding questions along the lines of "where did my clock display go?" With the Moneyrola radios it's just there, even though it might not be very accurate.
 

merlin

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2003
Messages
475
Location
South East Idaho
The time comes from the GPS and of course has to lock. I have a couple Motorolas that take a minute til first fix and show time. Stays up unless loss of signal.
 

W4KRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2001
Messages
3,144
Location
Coconut Creek, FL
On the Unity, is the GPS antenna built into the radio, or is it part of the full spectrum duck?
 

redbeard

OH, PA, WV Regional Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 5, 2003
Messages
675
Location
Jefferson County, OH
Just wanted to point out that the same functionality applies to the Unity mobile with CH-100 head as well should someone searching find this post in the future.
 
Top