BCD436HP: How to know whether I need an update/upgrade?

Status
Not open for further replies.

elisherer

Member
Joined
May 3, 2007
Messages
18
Location
Madison, CT
Hello,

I Just purchased a "slightly used" BCD436HP scanner, and though I have updated the Firmware (using Sentinel), I do not know if the previous owner had upgraded to ProVoice and DMR!

When I registered the scanner online, I am shown the option to purchase these keys... but does that mean that Uniden read them off my Serial Number and I actually need them? Or is this just by rote?

Thanks

(Been scanning since the 1980's, but this is a major upgrade to me).
 

TGP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
222
Location
Metro East, IL. St. Clair County
Those keys are optional for the DMR and Pro voice system upgrades.
You don't need them unless you want to listen to those systems.

Firmware upgrades are different and you may have to update that
Depending on what version you have installed.

Version 1.11.17 is the latest version available except a beta version
That i'm not smart enough to download without the help of sentinel.
Tom
 

marksmith

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,130
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
If you are being offered the option to purchase these keys, you don't have them.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
 

elisherer

Member
Joined
May 3, 2007
Messages
18
Location
Madison, CT
If you are being offered the option to purchase these keys, you don't have them.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
OK! That's the answer I was looking for.... I just have to figure out now if I need them, and decide if I want to spend the $$.

Thanks!
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
4,022
Version 1.11.17 is the latest version available except a beta version
That i'm not smart enough to download without the help of sentinel.
Tom
1.11.20 is the latest firmware version available through Sentinel.

.
 

marksmith

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,130
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
OK! That's the answer I was looking for.... I just have to figure out now if I need them, and decide if I want to spend the $$.

Thanks!
Take a look at the RR database for the areas where you will be using the radio.

For the most part, public safety operates on systems or frequencies you can get without these add on options.

In a few situations you can find a small public service agency using these, but in the case of Provoice they will be migrating to something else soon, and in the case of DMR it is mostly towing, utilities, hospitals, casinos, or other business entities using low power systems.

Based on what you find in your area that is if interest, you should be able to determine if you want to go for the add on.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
 

TGP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
222
Location
Metro East, IL. St. Clair County
1.11.20 is the latest firmware version available through Sentinel.

.
Thanks!
Installed Now
I was hoping I would be corrected.
Been waiting for it to be in Sentinel, Must not have been there to long,
Although I'll admit I forgot about it for a couple weeks.
I just couldn't figure out how to do it manually.

Thanks Again.
Tom
 
Last edited:

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,288
Location
Arlington, TX
You got bad advice. We do not track purchases in that way. He could have already purchased and applied the DMR and PV keys, and we would still allow you to purchase them.

First, check to see if the keys have already been entered into the scanner (if they have, the scanner will tell you so when you go to the menu to enter a key).
 

doublem

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
61
Location
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
No Computer

Just purchased a new BCD436HP! What an upgrade from my BC246T??? We are an Apple product household. Is there any way possible to upgrade to the latest software version without a PC??? 🙏🙏🙏
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
4,022
Just purchased a new BCD436HP! What an upgrade from my BC246T??? We are an Apple product household. Is there any way possible to upgrade to the latest software version without a PC??? ������

Sentinel is the software that comes with the scanner, you must use it running on Windows to update the firmware.

Check this article:

Mac Users of Police Scanner Radios | ScannerMaster.com

.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top