• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

I am a new user of a bcd396t and i need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

1998COR

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2006
Messages
4
I just purchased a bcd396t from Ebay and i am begining to think i am in over my head. It came with the cabling and three or four different software packages. I somehow got the info i wanted into it but i do not know how i did it and i do not know if everything i want is in it. How does all this stuff work?
 

fundhound

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2006
Messages
1
Hi I'm in the same boat with my new pro-96 it works great when using the talk group hold and I can follow every transmission but thats as far as I go. I don't know how to clear the banks of channels I don't want and I can't program any frequencies that I can scan. It continues to revert back to the programmed talk groups. Still looking for help in Maryland Eastern Shore. redline 1000@aol.com Thanks
 

trunker0205

Member
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
0
Location
Rhode Island
I felt the same way when I got the BCD-996T...Best thing to do is read the manual and re read it again then start with some basic programing..Use the software if it has Arc-996 use that it makes programing so much easier and read scanning equipment thread in this forum there is alot of good info there...

First thing i would do is delete all the pre-programmed systems then start over..
 
Last edited:

seamusg

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
2,181
Location
Grand Blanc, MI
1998COR said:
I just purchased a bcd396t from Ebay and i am begining to think i am in over my head. It came with the cabling and three or four different software packages. I somehow got the info i wanted into it but i do not know how i did it and i do not know if everything i want is in it. How does all this stuff work?
You may want to read this:
http://www.grove-ent.com/SCANNERPROGRAMMING.htm
 

1998COR

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2006
Messages
4
DOES ANYONE HAVE A FILE FOR THE LOS ANGELES CA AREA THAT I CAN TAKE A LOOK AT. i THINK I GOT IT BUT I AM NOT SURE IF I AM GETTING EVERYTHING I SHOULD BE
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,880
Location
Bowie, Md.
Go to the Maryland forum and ask. We've got several 96 users there. 73s Mike

fundhound said:
Hi I'm in the same boat with my new pro-96 it works great when using the talk group hold and I can follow every transmission but thats as far as I go. I don't know how to clear the banks of channels I don't want and I can't program any frequencies that I can scan. It continues to revert back to the programmed talk groups. Still looking for help in Maryland Eastern Shore. redline 1000@aol.com Thanks
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,880
Location
Bowie, Md.
No need to shout...try asking in the California forum <hint hint> 73s Mike

1998COR said:
DOES ANYONE HAVE A FILE FOR THE LOS ANGELES CA AREA THAT I CAN TAKE A LOOK AT. i THINK I GOT IT BUT I AM NOT SURE IF I AM GETTING EVERYTHING I SHOULD BE
 

jrplmil

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2006
Messages
119
He or she might be hard of hearing! Just so they know for shure all caps is considered shouting on the internet. Have fun.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top