I built a Dipole Antenna, but it's not working.

DavidLarson52

I'm brand new to the hobby, and got myself a Uniden SDS200. Tried to make my own Dipole Antenna, but when I put the alligator clip on the radios antenna, there is zero increase in reception across the entire frequency range of the radio. I know I am doing something totally stupid here, so I would really appreciate any help you may provide. Here are a few pictures...

This is 100 feet of generic speaker wire, strung between two big trees. From there the two wires go to an outside deck on my house.
Diagram.jpg
Closeup of how the two wire ends are attached to the trees, using zip ties...
007.jpg

The intersection of the two wires. Just some black electrical tape...
006.jpg

At my deck I've got a lot of extra wire that I simply winded up into a coil...
005.jpg

Here is the end that connects to the radios antenna...
009.jpg

Thanks again for any help you can provide.

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
You don't have a dipole if you have both conductors connected together at the alligator clip. You've just got a very long piece of wire that's no where near resonate at the frequencies your scanner covers.

It's also horizontally polarized, which is the opposite of what most of the stuff you probably want to listen to is using. Vertically polarized is what you want. That's reducing a lot of the signal right there.

Look up plans on how to build the off center fed dipole (mentioned above) or a 1/4 wave ground plane. You'll want to connect those with actual coaxial cable to the antenna jack, no clipped on to the existing antenna.

Ubbe

Thanks again for any help you can provide.