• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

KPG-D6

JLFH

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2020
Messages
5
Location
PVR, MEX
My Windows 10 failed and had to use the OEM restore feature to get Windows back, but now my KPG-D6 doesn't take the license key as a valid one, any idea how can I make it work?

KPG-D6.png
 

Josh

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
738
Location
Wyandotte Michigan
In this situation (I was in the same boat about a year ago) You're out of luck. In my case I had a computer failure and was unable to boot the machine's HDD and disable the old license. This new era of licensing really sucks in many ways, except for the manufacturer-- in their case they ensure that pirated software is abated.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
13,544
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
If you have the original license key for the software, Kenwood can manually kill it in their server and release it so you can reinstall it on your computer.

This is some info I got from Evans (KD4EFM on this site) a while back on how to handle a hard drive/motherboard type failure:

Anyone who has a REGULAR COPY OF THE SOFTWARE, please make a note on what your machine ID is;
Open License management Client, go to SETUP, GENERAL, DEVICE ID. Click on copy, and save it to a text file where you can
pull it up should there EVER be a pc/laptop/HDD failure. This will be needed to send to Kenwood Tech Support.
You will also need the copy of your ORIGINAL EMAIL WITH THE LICENSE KEY.

In the event you have a hard drive or motherboard failure, contact your dealer that you purchased the software from.
They will contact KWD_TS with your information, to begin the license refresh. There is NO DEADLINE TIME ON THIS
PROCESS!
 

JLFH

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2020
Messages
5
Location
PVR, MEX
I show this thread to my dealer, but it's a no go, where can I contact Kenwood support to try to get the license reactivated?

If you have the original license key for the software, Kenwood can manually kill it in their server and release it so you can reinstall it on your computer.

This is some info I got from Evans (KD4EFM on this site) a while back on how to handle a hard drive/motherboard type failure:

Anyone who has a REGULAR COPY OF THE SOFTWARE, please make a note on what your machine ID is;
Open License management Client, go to SETUP, GENERAL, DEVICE ID. Click on copy, and save it to a text file where you can
pull it up should there EVER be a pc/laptop/HDD failure. This will be needed to send to Kenwood Tech Support.
You will also need the copy of your ORIGINAL EMAIL WITH THE LICENSE KEY.

In the event you have a hard drive or motherboard failure, contact your dealer that you purchased the software from.
They will contact KWD_TS with your information, to begin the license refresh. There is NO DEADLINE TIME ON THIS
PROCESS!
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
13,544
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
I show this thread to my dealer, but it's a no go, where can I contact Kenwood support to try to get the license reactivated?
Start here:
 

kd4efm

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
1,634
Location
Florida
I show this thread to my dealer, but it's a no go, where can I contact Kenwood support to try to get the license reactivated?
IF your dealer said they do not want to help you, Look up their UPLINE and complain to them.
This process does take some time, but it is do-able.
You could call kenwood, but they 90% prefer your dealer to be making that call.
You will need your ID from the LMC handy and on hand when you do call.
LMC; SETUP/GENERAL/DEVICE ID
save it.
Next, the KPG_D6 Key, you should have gotten a txt file with the KEY ID in hex and or the ID itself,
You will need to provide that information also.
desciption.txt should have been with the email sent to you by your dealer.

ARE YOU IN MEXICO??
Not sure how Kenwood Central America does things.
So this may be indeed, a tough cookie to bite, but you might have to purchase another key to
get past the long process of getting it rebooted (reset).
 
Top