Location Based Scanning

Status
Not open for further replies.

tangosuite

Hi dear friends of the forum.

Before all, I'll like to say that I'm a totally newbie at this, so, maybe it's possible that my asking and conclusions might be wrong. Sorry for that.

I always be captivate by radio things, and now, maybe I have some more time to dedicate to this and I decide to buy a radio scanner. This wil be a UNIDEN BCD436HP!!!

Now I have a serious cuestion... I hope you can help me! For what I've been reading, this scaner uses what they call "Location Based Scanning" using the "radioreference" database. Where I live, in Argentina, there's no registers on this site of any frecuency to scan. So, I'm wonder if, I'll be able to use this unit where I live, I mean, if there is a "manual mode" or so to scan with no acces to a database.

Am I in a serious problem?

Thanks to all!

Best regards!

Ubbe

There are many of us who use Uniden scanners with location control outside of US.
You have to use a Favorite list and that works as a "normal" scanner to program with your own frequencies. You can actually use location control with some scanners like the BCT15 if you like, and also program "dangerous crossing" and other POIs to use when you connect a GPS to the scanner.

Uniden haven't fixed the BCDx36HP so it can handle GPS positions around the world, as they did to BCT15, only works with negative west positions from the GMT line, not positive east, but should be no problem in Argentina.

/Ubbe

tangosuite

Hi Ubbe, many thanks for your answer.

I appreciatte very mHi Ubbe, many thanks for your answer.

I appreciate very much you explanation but, I woul like to ask about one thing (please, dont forget that I'm a total newbie in this).

When you say that using "favourite lists" it may work as a "normal scanner", I imagine that I can press "some SCAN button" and the equipment will try to find some frecuencies near by me. Am I right?