• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Motorola questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spaz10

Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
41
Location
Jefferson, Ohio
I work in the Loss Prevention field and the store I currently work for has a Motorola Radius SM50 that they used to use with these large handheld radios. We just got a new supervisor who brought with him the Motorola CLS 1110 handhelds. I did some basic reading on the Radius SM50 but as usual when it comes to all the technical talk I couldn't determine if my idea would work or not. That's why I'm here at this forum. Can the Radius SM50 be programmed to transmit and receive the CLS 1110.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
1,133
Location
Peoria, IL
I work in the Loss Prevention field and the store I currently work for has a Motorola Radius SM50 that they used to use with these large handheld radios. We just got a new supervisor who brought with him the Motorola CLS 1110 handhelds. I did some basic reading on the Radius SM50 but as usual when it comes to all the technical talk I couldn't determine if my idea would work or not. That's why I'm here at this forum. Can the Radius SM50 be programmed to transmit and receive the CLS 1110.
Yes it would work. Looking at the spec sheet it says 450-470MHz and the CLS1110 covers that freq range. Are you using the SM50 for mobile use out in the parking lot because it is a mobile radio?

Radius SM50 Mobile Radio - Technical Specifications


http://www.motorolasolutions.com/US-EN/Business+Product+and+Services/Two-way+Radios/On-site+Business+Radios/CLS+Series/CLS1110
 

Spaz10

Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
41
Location
Jefferson, Ohio
No it's actually mounted in the office but has a lead going to an antenna for better reception. Apparently this has been in operation for several years now but the old handhelds are just too bulky and missing volume knobs, antennas, and belt clips. They're just not practical anymore.

How do I set the base to work with the CLS1110 handhelds?
 

cabletech

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
871
Location
Puget Sound
First, the SM50 is over twenty years old. They are not type excepted to work on all the new frequency plans that were changed in 2013.

You will need to replace the SM 50's with new radios.

The CLS series is also programmed with a list of 56 frequency's. So in order to get any other radio to work with them, you will need to find out what frequency it is actual working on.
 

MTS2000des

Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
3,548
Location
Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
The SM50 is a legacy radio close to 20 years old. Many of them are not narrowband compliant, only certain models are built for 12.5KHz operation. Your CLS radios are narrowband. IF your SM50 was ordered with the 12.5KHz option, it MAY be able to reprogrammed by a qualified shop to the frequencies of your CLS radios, ASSuming your agency has a valid FCC part 90 license.

The bad news is the SM50 is no longer supported by Motorola Solutions. To reprogram these, one needs an older computer running MS-DOS, and the appropriate DOS based Radio Service Software for the SM50/SM120 mobiles, which is no longer sold by Motorola. A Radio Interface Box (RIB) and appropriate RIB to radio cable are also needed.

It's probably more practical to replace the SM50 with a modern mobile/base radio that is narrowband capable and supported by it's manufacturer. For commercial use, the SM50 is limited unless it's a 12.5KHz model.

http://www.motorolasolutions.com/we...cial Radio Narrowbanding Compliance Guide.pdf

An Overview of the Motorola SM50/SM120 Mobile Radios
 

Spaz10

Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
41
Location
Jefferson, Ohio
This does not sound easy. How do I find out what freq. the SM50 is on. Please don't tell me by trial and error. lol
I do know that there is only 2 channels on the SM50 and the CLS' are all set to 1 code 97 right now.
 

Spaz10

Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
41
Location
Jefferson, Ohio
So from what I'm reading is I'm pretty much SOL on this. Thank you very much for the help. I really do appreciate all the help. I can always count on this site to help me with my questions.

Again, Thanks !!!
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
1,133
Location
Peoria, IL
The SM50 is a legacy radio close to 20 years old. Many of them are not narrowband compliant, only certain models are built for 12.5KHz operation. Your CLS radios are narrowband. IF your SM50 was ordered with the 12.5KHz option, it MAY be able to reprogrammed by a qualified shop to the frequencies of your CLS radios, ASSuming your agency has a valid FCC part 90 license.

The bad news is the SM50 is no longer supported by Motorola Solutions. To reprogram these, one needs an older computer running MS-DOS, and the appropriate DOS based Radio Service Software for the SM50/SM120 mobiles, which is no longer sold by Motorola. A Radio Interface Box (RIB) and appropriate RIB to radio cable are also needed.

It's probably more practical to replace the SM50 with a modern mobile/base radio that is narrowband capable and supported by it's manufacturer. For commercial use, the SM50 is limited unless it's a 12.5KHz model.

http://www.motorolasolutions.com/we...cial Radio Narrowbanding Compliance Guide.pdf

An Overview of the Motorola SM50/SM120 Mobile Radios
This does not sound easy. How do I find out what freq. the SM50 is on. Please don't tell me by trial and error. lol
I do know that there is only 2 channels on the SM50 and the CLS' are all set to 1 code 97 right now.
First, the SM50 is over twenty years old. They are not type excepted to work on all the new frequency plans that were changed in 2013.

You will need to replace the SM 50's with new radios.

The CLS series is also programmed with a list of 56 frequency's. So in order to get any other radio to work with them, you will need to find out what frequency it is actual working on.
First off I forgot that the radio is that old. You will need a new radio for sure. I forgot about the narrowband date set for 2013. And the CLS radios are all set to 12.5 KHz spacing. The SM50 is probley set to 25KHz spacing .And by looking at the CLS manual the freq you are on is 464.500 with a 465 DPL.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top