• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Motorola Radius M1225 Programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChitheadDeSo

Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2016
Messages
48
Location
Louisiana
I recently purchased a M1225 off Ebay and ot my GMRS license. The radio has one channel programmed into it and it is a business frequency. I am wondering if there is anyone in the Baton Rouge, Louisiana area that has the software and cable to do this and would help me get this first one programmed. I only want two channels programmed in. One of which being with repeater frequencies. Any help is greatly appreciated.
 

P25Radio

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
260
I recently purchased a M1225 off Ebay and ot my GMRS license. The radio has one channel programmed into it and it is a business frequency. I am wondering if there is anyone in the Baton Rouge, Louisiana area that has the software and cable to do this and would help me get this first one programmed. I only want two channels programmed in. One of which being with repeater frequencies. Any help is greatly appreciated.
I can help you but I am in San Diego Ca.
 

ChitheadDeSo

Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2016
Messages
48
Location
Louisiana
Maybe you still can, I have been looking at the different cables and know that I need a USB compatible one. However I read the reviews of a lot of the cables and they say that it wouldn't work with their unit. So what I am asking is, do you know where to find a cable that will definitely work kinda of thing, Thanks for any help you can give me.
 

WI3EMT

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
28
Location
Marshfield , WI
Chithead,

While it IS possible to program an M1225 with a USB programming cable, they play best with a computer with a real RS-232 serial port.

That being said, if that is not an option for you ( which it sounds like that is the case) they play best with a Windows XP computer using the USB cable.
I *may* have programmed one of mine with a Win 7 system, but ( and, my memory is pretty foggy on this) it did not like it and it sucked.

I have a dedicated XP laptop with a serial port that I use for programming all of my /\/\ stuff now, so it's no longer an issue, but the first computer I used to program my M1225's was an Asus EeePC Netbook running XP home, with a serial to USB adapter and a serial cable. You WILL have to play around in Device Manager to get the port settings right.

The RSS is pretty self explanatory and very straightforward, if you can get a legitimate copy of it.


I hope this helps you out some.
 

ChitheadDeSo

Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2016
Messages
48
Location
Louisiana
yes it does, thank you for the info. I have a dell with windows 7 ( i think), but I read somewhere that A guy was able to program fairly easily using a windows xp simulator. So I figured I would try that before opting to by the laptop and dedicate it solely to it.
 

clbsquared

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 13, 2015
Messages
499
Location
Isle of Wight County
The M1225 CPS needs to be run on a 32 bit computer or 32 bit simulator. I have numerous M1225's and all I use is the USB cable. However.....make sure you get the USB cable that has the FTDI chip set.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top