Mt Ogden Band Plan

Status
Not open for further replies.

pmstewart

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
230
Location
Ogden, UT.
Upon running UniTrunker on MT Ogden today I'm finding a strange plan under band plan. Since I understand what happens with rebanding it does not mean I"m a guru with this stuff so maybe someone can explain.....

Base Lo Hi Spacing Slots
851.01250 0 719 25.00 1
866.00000 720 759 25.00 1
867.00000 815 831 25.00 1
867.42500 961 1022 25.00 1
868.9750 958 958 25.00 1

This info looks like the "reband" info in Win500 when selected but my understanding is it goes line by line - first line first.....so some stuff is not matching and some stuff is out of place.......

Paul
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,069
Upon running UniTrunker on MT Ogden today I'm finding a strange plan under band plan. Since I understand what happens with rebanding it does not mean I"m a guru with this stuff so maybe someone can explain.....

Base Lo Hi Spacing Slots
851.01250 0 719 25.00 1
866.00000 720 759 25.00 1
867.00000 815 831 25.00 1
867.42500 961 1022 25.00 1
868.9750 958 958 25.00 1

This info looks like the "reband" info in Win500 when selected but my understanding is it goes line by line - first line first.....so some stuff is not matching and some stuff is out of place.......

Paul
I see two problems.
1) That looks like the original band plan that may be in your scanner. It will never work with a rebanded system. 866 to 868 freqs. are no longer used and you need 851.0250 starting in channel 440 in your new band plan.
2) I looked in the database, but there is no Mt. Ogden site.
 

Highpockets

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,801
Location
New Jersey
I see two problems.
1) That looks like the original band plan that may be in your scanner. It will never work with a rebanded system. 866 to 868 freqs. are no longer used and you need 851.0250 starting in channel 440 in your new band plan.
2) I looked in the database, but there is no Mt. Ogden site.
Under UCAN there is a Mount Ogden site (007) in Weber County.
 

pmstewart

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
230
Location
Ogden, UT.
DickH,

The scanner I'm using to monitor is a RS PRO-39 with no idea what a bandplan is....it's a non-trunking scanner.....just a 200 ch. direct entry with 800MHz freqs and a discriminator tap ......plugged into the audio device in the line-in port on my computer......
 

bchris

Member
Joined
May 12, 2008
Messages
218
Location
Salem, Utah
This new Unitrunker feature is sweeet !!

The scanner I'm using to monitor is a RS PRO-39 with no idea what a bandplan is....it's a non-trunking scanner.....just a 200 ch. direct entry with 800MHz freqs and a discriminator tap ......plugged into the audio device in the line-in port on my computer......
pmstewart -

I do the EXACT same thing with an older BC780 scanner. I just tune to the CC freq for a given site, and Unitrunker works fine with it.

And Yes, Virginia, there is a Mt Ogden. As Highpockets stated it is 7202-07, but then you already knew that.

Your issue is an easy fix in Unitrunker. From the screen shots you and I posted, notice the little calculator-looking icon. Point to it and it should pop-up the name 'Wizard'. Click on it, then click the 'Rebanded' tab, then close the window. This will create a band plan as shown in my 1st pic below. It is fine as-is, but as stated by others, a completely rebanded system like UCAN does not use freqs beyond the 1st two lines. Unless I forget, I always delete all but the 1st two lines just to keep things cleaner, as shown in the 2nd pic below. I do the same for every Ucan site, and it always works perfectly.
....there is a chance that you will need to delete the freqs gathered while the band plan was wrong, then let it re-find all the freqs again. Just keep an eye on that.

This all used to be a big pain, having to type in all the lines by hand for every site, not remembering all the numbers, and not realizing only 2 lines are needed (at least in Utah). Now it is Soooo Sweet! Thank You Unitrunker !!!

Try it - You'll love it.

--bc
.
 

Attachments

N7YUO

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2004
Messages
625
Location
Kearns, UT
DickH,

with no idea what a bandplan is....
A simple explanation of a band plan:
It is like a formula that you give the scanner so it knows how to "tune" the correct frequency when the data channel transmits a Motorola channel number.
Beginning at 851.0125 (Base), and increasing in steps of 25 are channels 0-439.
Beginning at 851.0250 (Base), and increasing in steps of 25 are channels 440-559
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top