TRX-1: Needing Help with DMR - Programming A Sytem

Status
Not open for further replies.

drkatzjr

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
484
Location
United States
Here are my questions. I am really needing assistance


1) If a DMR system is already on the SD card, is it necessary to self-program it....?
By that I mean...Couldn't you simply go to "Browse Library" then enter your state / county
and the DMR system you are wishing to hear....and then assign it to a scanlist?
(Instead of manual programming (ie) using the Program Menu to add a new system and its frequencies.


2) Posted below is the DMR system I wish to scan - But am having difficulty (I am not receiving the system)

Posted below is the system I am wanting to program:
_____________________________________________________________

System Name: River Spirit Casino
Location: Tulsa, OK
County: Tulsa
System Type: DMR Motorola Capacity Plus Single Site (TRBO)
System Voice: DMR

System Frequencies

Site Name
001 (1) casino 01 451.300 03 452.000 05 452.850

System Talkgroups

DEC Mode Alpha Tag Description
100 T Security Casino Security
103 T Shuttles Parking Lot Shuttle Vans
___________________________________________________________


Given this data above, here is the process I completed:

1. I tried to simply import the system from the --library-- and assign it to a scanlist.
(The system is in the library and already on the SD card)

That did not work: Unable to listen to the system

So I tried to manually program the system:

________________________________________________

Here are the steps I followed:

A. Selected Program Menu
B. Selected Add System
C. Selected DMR

I am now in the --Add System- menu

I assume now I select "Edit Sites"

D. I then selected "Add New"
E. I then selected "Frequencies"

Looking at the system I posted above, here is how I entered the frequencies (See Above)

01: 451.3000
03: 452.0000
05: 452.8500

I then assigned the two talkgroups: 100 and 103

I then imported this to a scanlist and am not hearing anything

______________________________________________________________


** Here is the interesting part:

If I complete a "Limit Search" and the above-frequencies come up, I --can hear-- the DMR communications
from this system on the individual frequencies, respectively.

Of course, however, there is discontinuity in listening to the complete conversations.

This alerts me that I am close enough to the site to receive it, and the scanner can encode it,
but when I attempt to import the system from the (1) Library --or-- (2) Self Program it and assign it to a scanlist... I hear --Nothing--
__________________________________________________________________


Is there anyone in this forum that could provide feedback as to what I might be doing incorrectly.

Posting here or giving me a private message would be sincerely appreciated.

I am really needing assistance......



Thanks!
 

drkatzjr

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
484
Location
United States
Where would that information be available? And if the system is already in the library,
wouldn't those variables be included already?

By basic question, to be more succinct, is this:

If the DMR system is already on the SD card, can't a individual simply go to "Browse Library"
find the system in the state and county, then import it to a scanlist...instead of self-programming it?
 

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,977
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
Here are my questions. I am really needing assistance


1) If a DMR system is already on the SD card, is it necessary to self-program it....?
By that I mean...Couldn't you simply go to "Browse Library" then enter your state / county
and the DMR system you are wishing to hear....and then assign it to a scanlist?
(Instead of manual programming (ie) using the Program Menu to add a new system and its frequencies.
Yes- you should just be able to import it.

2) Posted below is the DMR system I wish to scan - But am having difficulty (I am not receiving the system)

Posted below is the system I am wanting to program:
_____________________________________________________________

System Name: River Spirit Casino
Location: Tulsa, OK
County: Tulsa
System Type: DMR Motorola Capacity Plus Single Site (TRBO)
System Voice: DMR

System Frequencies

Site Name
001 (1) casino 01 451.300 03 452.000 05 452.850

System Talkgroups

DEC Mode Alpha Tag Description
100 T Security Casino Security
103 T Shuttles Parking Lot Shuttle Vans
___________________________________________________________


Given this data above, here is the process I completed:

1. I tried to simply import the system from the --library-- and assign it to a scanlist.
(The system is in the library and already on the SD card)

That did not work: Unable to listen to the system

So I tried to manually program the system:

________________________________________________

Here are the steps I followed:

A. Selected Program Menu
B. Selected Add System
C. Selected DMR

I am now in the --Add System- menu

I assume now I select "Edit Sites"

D. I then selected "Add New"
E. I then selected "Frequencies"

Looking at the system I posted above, here is how I entered the frequencies (See Above)

01: 451.3000
03: 452.0000
05: 452.8500

I then assigned the two talkgroups: 100 and 103

I then imported this to a scanlist and am not hearing anything

______________________________________________________________


** Here is the interesting part:

If I complete a "Limit Search" and the above-frequencies come up, I --can hear-- the DMR communications
from this system on the individual frequencies, respectively.

Of course, however, there is discontinuity in listening to the complete conversations.

This alerts me that I am close enough to the site to receive it, and the scanner can encode it,
but when I attempt to import the system from the (1) Library --or-- (2) Self Program it and assign it to a scanlist... I hear --Nothing--
__________________________________________________________________


Is there anyone in this forum that could provide feedback as to what I might be doing incorrectly.

Posting here or giving me a private message would be sincerely appreciated.

I am really needing assistance......



Thanks!
If you're close enough to hear it in limit search mode, importing or programming the system should work also. I'd need to see you programming to help determine if there is a problem.

BTW - you don't really need color code or slot data - color can be left to "any" and slot data in trunk mode doesn't matter as far as programming goes.
 

NM9X

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 25, 2016
Messages
58
Location
Mt. Zion, IL
Here are my questions. I am really needing assistance


1) If a DMR system is already on the SD card, is it necessary to self-program it....?
By that I mean...Couldn't you simply go to "Browse Library" then enter your state / county
and the DMR system you are wishing to hear....and then assign it to a scanlist?
(Instead of manual programming (ie) using the Program Menu to add a new system and its frequencies.


2) Posted below is the DMR system I wish to scan - But am having difficulty (I am not receiving the system)

Posted below is the system I am wanting to program:
_____________________________________________________________

System Name: River Spirit Casino
Location: Tulsa, OK
County: Tulsa
System Type: DMR Motorola Capacity Plus Single Site (TRBO)
System Voice: DMR

System Frequencies

Site Name
001 (1) casino 01 451.300 03 452.000 05 452.850

System Talkgroups

DEC Mode Alpha Tag Description
100 T Security Casino Security
103 T Shuttles Parking Lot Shuttle Vans
___________________________________________________________


Given this data above, here is the process I completed:

1. I tried to simply import the system from the --library-- and assign it to a scanlist.
(The system is in the library and already on the SD card)

That did not work: Unable to listen to the system

So I tried to manually program the system:

________________________________________________

Here are the steps I followed:

A. Selected Program Menu
B. Selected Add System
C. Selected DMR

I am now in the --Add System- menu

I assume now I select "Edit Sites"

D. I then selected "Add New"
E. I then selected "Frequencies"

Looking at the system I posted above, here is how I entered the frequencies (See Above)

01: 451.3000
03: 452.0000
05: 452.8500

I then assigned the two talkgroups: 100 and 103

I then imported this to a scanlist and am not hearing anything

______________________________________________________________


** Here is the interesting part:

If I complete a "Limit Search" and the above-frequencies come up, I --can hear-- the DMR communications
from this system on the individual frequencies, respectively.

Of course, however, there is discontinuity in listening to the complete conversations.

This alerts me that I am close enough to the site to receive it, and the scanner can encode it,
but when I attempt to import the system from the (1) Library --or-- (2) Self Program it and assign it to a scanlist... I hear --Nothing--
__________________________________________________________________


Is there anyone in this forum that could provide feedback as to what I might be doing incorrectly.

Posting here or giving me a private message would be sincerely appreciated.

I am really needing assistance......



Thanks!
My experience with the RR database (esp with regard to newer digital systems) has been that it may not be completely up to date in some cases. e.g. a DMR system I routinely monitor is listed in the database but it's listing is missing frequencies, has incorrect control channels, and LCNs even site numbers are not up to date... Systems change over time or may not have been completely documented and may well require further research to get all the required parameters to monitor successfully. Start by comparing the frequencies you heard in your limit search with what is programmed in the system sites. Be aware that you may be in range of two or more DMR towers on the same or different networks - it can get confusing but monitoring color codes, conversations, and cross referencing frequencies you find on searches with the fcc website can help sort it out. If you want to delve further into the hobby, software defined radio and apps like dsd+ can be another tool to research with.
 

Swipesy

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
1,605
Location
Northern Ohio
My experience with the RR database (esp with regard to newer digital systems) has been that it may not be completely up to date in some cases. e.g. a DMR system I routinely monitor is listed in the database but it's listing is missing frequencies, has incorrect control channels, and LCNs even site numbers are not up to date...
And how many updates have you personally submitted to the RadioReference database to make it more accurate?
 

NM9X

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 25, 2016
Messages
58
Location
Mt. Zion, IL
And how many updates have you personally submitted to the RadioReference database to make it more accurate?
I will submit the info I've gathered for the sites near me shortly... started using the database a couple months ago. lol. Actually I have posted new frequencies I've found and shared data with others via pm. If I came off as critical of the database it wasn't my intention. Just stating a possibility for the op's problem. But you're right, the db is a group effort!
 

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,977
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
Are there any known issues that Whistler currently has following some DMR systems?
From what I've seen with DMR and NXDN - unlike P25 and public safety - is that there are lots of "one-offs" in these systems. That is - there could well be something that hasn't been accounted for - wouldn't surprise me. But - would be best to check with some folks in your area....

EDIT: Perhaps not the same problem but in terms of DMR, Uniden is having issues also: http://forums.radioreference.com/uniden-tech-support/345734-dmr-tier-3-a-2.html
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top