Pro 197

de784

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
774
Location
Delaware
I have been using a pro197 for my feed. Sussex County Delaware. Within the last few weeks it has been hanging up. Broadcasting talkgroups that I don't have programed in. Any settings I can change to stop this.

Thanks
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
8,146
Location
MACOMB, MI.
I have been using a pro197 for my feed. Sussex County Delaware. Within the last few weeks it has been hanging up. Broadcasting talkgroups that I don't have programed in. Any settings I can change to stop this.

Thanks
Sounds like you have it in search mode instead of scan mode.
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
5,696
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
I assume you are feeding more than one TG. Which means you have TGs programmed and the unit in SCAN mode. By any chance is there a WildCard in your TG list? If so, either delete it or permanently lock it out.
 

de784

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
774
Location
Delaware
I assume you are feeding more than one TG. Which means you have TGs programmed and the unit in SCAN mode. By any chance is there a WildCard in your TG list? If so, either delete it or permanently lock it out.
No wildcard. It had been working with no issues this just started
 

dispatch235

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
177
Location
Dixon, Missouri
I have found as my Pro-197 and Pro-106 have aged they both have become very "quirky"... they will play for a couple months flawlessly and out of nowhere develop a "heap error" and are unusable until i reload the v folder or resend the programming from the computer, then all is well until the next episode. Also they are more prone to the problem if they are turned off and on every day... so I mostly leave them on 24-7 and just turn them down if needed. And if we have any electrical flicker/surge they loose their talkgroups and go into "heap error"...
I actually like the audio of them better on P25 than my Unidens, which I've never had anything like this happen on them, but they can sure be fickle..
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
5,696
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
I have each a PRO-197 and PSR-500. The PRO-197 runs 24/7 from solid power. Every now and then I've seen things like the text on the display is reversed (mirror image) or upside down. A power cycle fixes it.

I've really only run the PSR-500 from Eneloop batteries in a mobile capacity. I have rarely seen issues until recently I got a heap error.
 

DJ11DLN

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
2,061
Location
Mudhole, IN
I've never had the infamous "heap error" show up on my 197, or the 651 that I beat around the farm with for that matter. Identical programming of course. The 197 is the one scanner I power off every night at bedtime because the quirky behavior only shows up when it's been on for a few weeks. The 651 will only work on batteries anymore so it obviously gets depowered regularly.

I only have about $160 total in both radios so if the magic smoke comes out right now I still really can't complain...
 
Top