• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Pro97 Display

Status
Not open for further replies.

stevej1221

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
4
Is there a history of problems with the pro97 display screwing up? wheni scan it seems to blink when it changes banks and on limit search i get random shaddows moving on the display that are not ment to be there. i just wonder if i need to take it back to RS now or if it is normal for it to do this and won't hurt anything. thanks.
 

Docster911

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
14
Mine seems to do this when the batteries become weak. At least when I put in new batteries the flashing stops. I eventually put in the rechargeables (nimh) and the problem went away.. (yes.... I am using the yellow carriage!!)
 

NeFire242

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
1,528
Location
Nebraska
Well the low battery is where the display will turn on and off completely. This isn't what I would call a "blink".

The underscore will "blink" under a bank number it is scanning.

Where do you see the shadows, and does it only occur while scanning a particular bank, or near a high RF field?
 

scanall

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
19
Location
Longview Texas
I have a 97 I bought a month ago I dont notice anything wrong with the display .It also came in a box. Not the blister pack.
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
scanall said:
I have a 97 I bought a month ago I dont notice anything wrong with the display .It also came in a box. Not the blister pack.
Interesting that it came in a box. Did you get it at your local RadioShack?
 

rpowley

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2004
Messages
515
Location
Rowlett, Texas
Mine has a slight blink when Pri is on.....Don't think it's anything to be concerned about.
DaveIN said:
Interesting that it came in a box. Did you get it at your local RadioShack?
Pick one up last month and it came in a nicely packaged box, like the 96's. Much better that the clear pack.
 

intrepid97

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
178
When you have PRIORIITY on it blinks because it is checking the priority channel as it is designed to do :)
 

scanall

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
19
Location
Longview Texas
The pro 97 can be damaged in shipping before it gets to your local RS if its not packaged in a box. Thats a comon knowlege thing.
 

jeffrey420

Member
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
357
scanall said:
The pro 97 can be damaged in shipping before it gets to your local RS if its not packaged in a box. Thats a comon knowlege thing.

The first one I got had a bubble between the crystal and the LCD. Took it back and got a differant one. Couldn't see that doing anything but getting worse.

Both were in blister packs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top