• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

programming mts2000

Status
Not open for further replies.

dss261263

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
17
Location
UK
had these for years usually program from back serial of xp machine using one connector in serial computer and the motoropla clamp that goes onto the contacts at side of radio, using the cps 4 and I purchsed 6 a while back, the cable seems connected properly the port is showing when asked to read the radio, which is switch on it says cannot open port make sure switched on. is there a button sequence I must use to put mts2000 into programming mode or ?, I have two similar programming cables tried different xp machine with serials and they both said the same, cannot connect check the radio is switched on this is com 1, i tried via a usb serial cable to get another port same thing, is there buttons on the radio I must press to allow the radio to talk to the cable and computer. thank you in advance, David
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
There is no key sequence to put the radio into programming mode.

MTS2000 CPS went to version R02.03.00 -- there was no version 4 or 6. RSS, the older DOS software, went to version R06.08.00.

It sounds to me like you're using the wrong CPS. Or... if you're using a USB/Serial adapter, the drivers may not be installed properly. If you are, in fact using RSS with a USB/Serial adapter -- that is not going to work.

I dunno - your post is hard to understand.
 

dss261263

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
17
Location
UK
Hi
I looked at the software the number is cpa r04 which I got from one of my old discs will see if I can look at the version number you listed and let you know if I get success with this, the programming cables are what I used years ago to do the job. thanks for a realy quick reply and I wiill let yo uknow how I get along.
Thanks and have a great day in the sunshine state.
David
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,672
Location
Central Ontario
If you are using RSS R06.08.00, you'll need to boot into DOS mode.

You cannot use RSS with a Windows XP DOS window.
 

dss261263

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
17
Location
UK
HI Guys
Thanks for the replys, it says cps r06.04 that was a disc I found whilst looking, if uyou could please let me know what cps or rss number I am looking for to work on an xp machine sp3 if that makes a difference and I can go look at my back up discs tomorrow.
Thanks again for your quick assistance
David
 

KG4INW

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
1,427
Location
Midlothian, VA
If it actually is CPS (Windows based) that R06.04, that sounds like Professional Series which won't work on an MTS2000.
 

dss261263

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
17
Location
UK
Hi Guys, a quick update, you have pointed me in the right direction I came across the appropriate version, ver 2 or R 2 so am on the right track, simply need to find the version that communicates with my radios. Thanks again and have a great day there in the US.
David
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top