Programming PD on Motorola APX6000

Nierardi

I am a firefighter and would like to put PD on my Motorola APX6000. From what I read it’s a Phase 2 and has TDMA enabled in flash. I would like to have 3rd precinct added. Would anyone know where I could get that done or how? I would be willing to pay.

Rudy3145

Feed Provider
Suffolk County PD controls all 7/800 programming for the county system.

A. They will only program radios that have never been programmed before.
B. Radios will need to be accompanied by FD letter head authorizing radios to be programmed. Depts can bring their radios to FRES, and FRES will get them to SCPD for programming.
C. Moving forward, any radios found to be cloned, and not granted permission to be on the county system, will be disabled aka killed.

So I don't recommend trying to circumvent the system. SCPD just put out a letter stressing this. They know there are unauthorized radios on the system, and this was their fair warning. They are going to start cleaning things up, and disabling unauthorized radios.

If you have a new radio, and your FD authorizes it - they need to send it to FRES along with a letter.

Thunderknight

Premium Subscriber
If you have a new radio, and your FD authorizes it - they need to send it to FRES along with a letter.
From the OP's post, it appears they are looking to get PD in their radio, not FD.
Thinking the chances of that happening legitimately are somewhere under 0%.

hakwye8518

Premium Subscriber
There is no legitimate way for you to get your personally owned apx programmed onto the county system. The letter the suffolk county police just put out recently states fire and ems agency radios only. Radios must have agency asset tags and be accompanied with the purchase invoice among other requirements.

chrismol1

P25 TruCking!