Quebec's RENIR System

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimlawrence

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2004
Messages
270
Yesterday while sitting at the Burlington (Vermont) International Airport, I caught a control channel on 141.075. My 396T reported to me this was associated with sysid 014F-0259.

I've also started hearing P-25 voice en francais on other frequencies in the 140 MHz range. Is RENIR actually in use? If so, who's currently using it?

Does anyone have the custom table layout for this system? I'd like to try tracking it on my Pro-96. My 396T reports to me, rather cryptically, the following values:

0:851.00625/6.25
1:762.00625/6.25
2:136.00000/5.00
3:156.47500/5.00

which I'm guessing is some kind of subset for values used by this system. It would appear the last two values in the table above are the really important ones since the frequencies in use are VHF but without an offset value along with the base frequency and spacing, it's not much use to me.

Thanks for any help you can give me!

Best Wishes,
Jim
 

FRISBY

Member
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
6
Location
OTTAWA
renir

Hydro quebec are on the renir .The governement of quebec frequency including provincial police will be on the renir system.There are test being done.I was told from a good source provincial police will tx on apco 25 encrypted.
 

DaveH

Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
3,284
Location
Ottawa, Ont.
Hydro quebec are on the renir .The governement of quebec frequency including provincial police will be on the renir system.There are test being done.I was told from a good source provincial police will tx on apco 25 encrypted.
Are you certain about H-Q being on RENIR? They are (as far as I know) still using
their own system, which has frequencies in the same general range (142MHz). H-Q is
converting their system to P25 (9.6k control channels); Huntingdon has
apparently switched (CC 142.380). I was told this was for compatibility between
the two systems (I was wondering if they might eventually merge the systems).

I am sure SQ (police) will be a major user, and I also have heard of
encryption (completely).

Dave
 

DaveH

Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
3,284
Location
Ottawa, Ont.
Yesterday while sitting at the Burlington (Vermont) International Airport, I caught a control channel on 141.075. My 396T reported to me this was associated with sysid 014F-0259.

I've also started hearing P-25 voice en francais on other frequencies in the 140 MHz range. Is RENIR actually in use? If so, who's currently using it?

Does anyone have the custom table layout for this system? I'd like to try tracking it on my Pro-96. My 396T reports to me, rather cryptically, the following values:

0:851.00625/6.25
1:762.00625/6.25
2:136.00000/5.00
3:156.47500/5.00

which I'm guessing is some kind of subset for values used by this system. It would appear the last two values in the table above are the really important ones since the frequencies in use are VHF but without an offset value along with the base frequency and spacing, it's not much use to me.

Thanks for any help you can give me!

Best Wishes,
Jim
I can't claim to be an expert on P25, but why would you need base/offset/step
for a "pure" (9.6k) P25 system? I thought the PRO-96 needed them, but not
Uniden scanners.

For the VHF ranges, something tells me that the actual spacing is 7.5kHz, but
I have yet to get confirmation. This comes from a couple of us hearing a P25
CC on around 152.055, which may actually be 152.0525, which is a 7.5kHz
channel. So far, all (other) CC's have been on a 15kHz grid.

Dave
 
Last edited:

slypx

Quebec DB Adm
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 22, 2007
Messages
280
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Are you certain about H-Q being on RENIR? They are (as far as I know) still using
their own system, which has frequencies in the same general range (142MHz). H-Q is
converting their system to P25 (9.6k control channels); Huntingdon has
apparently switched (CC 142.380). I was told this was for compatibility between
the two systems (I was wondering if they might eventually merge the systems).

I am sure SQ (police) will be a major user, and I also have heard of
encryption (completely).

Dave
DaveH has the correct information, H-Q IS NOT on the RENIR. They have their own Moto system and presently converting it to a fully P25 7.2 version in the 140 Mhz band.

Other than that P25 and the Montreal FD P25 (in the 800 mhz) in the Montreal area there's almost nothing on the RENIR. The RENIR is very active in the Quebec city area and will be more active beginning of 2009 elsewhere. Has for the Surete du Quebec don't expect anything for another year.
 

EricCottrell

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Nov 8, 2002
Messages
2,374
Location
Boston, Ma
Hello,

I was over in the Magog area of Cantons-de-l'Est and heard the control channel of 014fh-0267 on 140.685 MHz using the Uniden 396.

The bad news is Site 0267 (and Site 0256 heard in Montreal) does not display system information on my GRE PSR-600 if I use the tune mode. It only displays P25 with a NAC code. I have not tried programming it as a system yet. The 396 and 996 have no problems decoding the RENIR sites. The GRE PSR-600 has no problems in tune mode on HQ P25 sites in the Cantons-de-l'Est area. It appears something in the RENIR control channel makes the PSR-600 decode it as plain P25.

73 Eric
 

EricCottrell

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Nov 8, 2002
Messages
2,374
Location
Boston, Ma
Hello,

I programmed a RENIR site into the GRE PSR-600. The Analyze function just shows dashes for the system information. It does look like it tracks the system although the display was confusing and I could no determine if it was displaying the right TG info or decoded all the voice traffic. There was not much traffic on the site.

The scanner has the latest APP (1.5) and DSP (1.3). My 396 has no problem decoding and tracking this site.

73 Eric
 

martint1172

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
10
Hi,
I have a PSR-500, i trying to program a RENIR but nothing. I trying P25 Auto , P25, Manual with 800 rebanding , P25 Manual with P25 rebanding nothing... What is a true configuration? I trying in Quebec City now i be back in Estrie
 

IdleMonitor

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
2,709
Location
The Ottawa Valley - Eastern Ontario
I'll also soon be adding 153.695 to the mix here to see what else I can get.
That one is the control ch. located up in Ladysmith Quebec.
So again, the system now in question is this one
http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=5492

I have also noticed too that 142.065 also has the distinct sound of the
control ch. as these and not the old Hydro Quebec system.

TG 1461 heard off of Bryson Also heard off the the Pembroke tower

It appears as if the same frequencies as the other site
http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=1797 are all associated the same
way too. It also is appearing like this new system is making extensive use
of the I-Call Feature too.

142.41000
142.53000c SID 01ECh-0122 - Bryson
142.59000

744746
751264
751273

142.48500
142.90500
142.98000c SID 01ECh-0159 (Pembroke) Ile De Alumettes

I'm thinking the I-Calls that are matched up here are actually talking to
each other, I would think? Atleast that's how it showed up on the radio,
all the others are just singled out although most were taken from my logs
and not actually heard.

750779
750781
750870
750991
750995-750943
750987
751077
751258
751259-750995
751264-750995

And to think, I just decided to put these into my radio for the hell of it,
even though I can't understand a damn word they're talking about. Is it
feasible do you think, to program the I-Calls as they are into the mix or
just leave that feature in search mode? Do they act the same as talkgroups?

I've also sent this to the EasternOntarioScanning yahoo group too only because well...we border so I thought I'd get some info there too.

Everything posted here, is P25 - not Encrypted.

153.695 - Ladysmith, Que. SID 014Fh-0276

I'm gonna add more here, I think I may have made a bit of a booboo when submitting the 2 1Ec stuff to the database, I should've been adding the stuff to this one instead http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=2951

I'll submit it there instead, seeing as the SID is the same. Would this be the correct thing to do? I also see the talk group ID I logged there 1461 as being for the Pontiac region and that would make sense.

Is it possible to have 800/140mhz on the same type of system?
 
Last edited:

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,675
Location
Central Ontario
I have also noticed too that 142.065 also has the distinct sound of the control ch. as these and not the old Hydro Quebec system.
You are aware that Hydro Quebec is also rolling out a 9k6 system as well and the control channels would sound the same as Renir?
 

Jay911

.
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,293
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
Is the "Montreal Fire" system in the DB a site on the RENIR system? If so, shouldn't it be merged into the RENIR database entry, for benefit of those using programs that download the RRDB data, like programming software and/or trunker type software?
 

slypx

Quebec DB Adm
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 22, 2007
Messages
280
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Is the "Montreal Fire" system in the DB a site on the RENIR system? If so, shouldn't it be merged into the RENIR database entry, for benefit of those using programs that download the RRDB data, like programming software and/or trunker type software?
Hi Jay

Technically it could be, but pratically it's not and it wouldn't be pratical.

The Montreal Fire Dept (MFD) is using their own radios, with their own radio consoles AND their own 3 antenna sites (Simul-cast) and is only sharing the RENIR "knot" (server). The Montreal city is doing their own maintenance and so on ... It is not "part" of the system, it is only sharing parts of the infrastructure and they have their own 800 MHz freq opposed to the 140 MHz RENIR sites.

That is the only reason why their system is identifying itself has "14F" like the RENIR on our scanners. The knot is attibuting the network ID.

The MFD site is identified as "site 201" in the system and there won't be any RENIR site's call "site 201" because of that infrastructure sharing. There will not be any RENIR's users that will connect to site 201 because it is exclusive to the MFD, the Montreal area RENIR's site is 256.

Maybe I'm wrong, but even if it looks like we could do it on the "XT" family of Uniden, I'm not sure we could program a 140 Mhz system in all brand and model of scanners telling them that one of his sites is on 800 MHz ...

Even if it could make technical sense to bought them in the same system, for those of us here in Quebec it is largely known that they are two separate systems and there are no confusion. And for us, Quebec DB admin or Quebec's own French speaking forum (RFQuebec/forum or Infoscan), it's easier to fullfill our mandate of "help desk" to newbies that way.

And finally for purists who would like to play with words and fine technical stuff it could be call "a single site closed system within a system" but as one of the Quebec DB Admin, I don't intend to change it in the DB.

I hope I brought some lights over that particular situation.

The RENIR system with all his sites is here : RENIR Trunking System, Provincewide, Quebec - Scanner Frequencies

The MFD system is here :
Montreal FIRE Trunking System, Montreal, Quebec - Scanner Frequencies
 
Last edited:

Jay911

.
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,293
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
Ok, fair enough. Just been looking at the stuff in the DB since Unitrunker came out. There's more than one system out there that's set up a little funky, and is now being discovered because of things like Unitrunker and other software and scanners that report sites and such.

Thanks for the quick response. :)
 

slypx

Quebec DB Adm
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 22, 2007
Messages
280
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Ok, fair enough. Just been looking at the stuff in the DB since Unitrunker came out. There's more than one system out there that's set up a little funky, and is now being discovered because of things like Unitrunker and other software and scanners that report sites and such.

Thanks for the quick response. :)
You're right. When I use Pro96Com with my PSR600 or BCD396XT to monitor the MFD CC, it doesn't show any of the neighbouring RENIR'S sites meaning they are not interconnected.
 

ocscan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
361
Location
Ottawa, On
Has anyone figured out what setting info is required for me to program the RENIR system into a Pro 2096?
 

mciupa

Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
7,271
Judging by the freq. range, looks like a four table VHF system. :eek:
 

slypx

Quebec DB Adm
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 22, 2007
Messages
280
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Here's what comes out of my PSR600 and read by Pro96Com for site 256 ..

-Tables
#Format: Table ID,Base Freq,Spacing,Input Offset,Assumed/Confirmed,BandWidth
00,851.00625,0.00625,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.00625
01,762.00625,0.00625,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.00625
02,136.00000,0.00500,2.25000,"Confirmed",0.01250
03,156.47500,0.00500,2.25000,"Confirmed",0.01250
 

pbabin2001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
2
Location
Canada
Québec Area and the RENIR System

In the quebec metro area, you can ear the CTAQ dispatch (EMS Dispatch) for Charlevoix and Laurentide Park on the ID 7502. You can also ear the MTQ (Ministere des Transport du Quebec) on many ID (2011 is one of those ID).

For the SQ on renir, we will have the time to change many time of technologiy. From a good source of that, the renir is not ready to support encryted tx from everywhere. Renir have sont black spot in many place in quebec region. From CTAQ ggod source, Charlevoix and Laurentide Park are stand the renir tx in a pilot project for now. So, nothing must move before 2 or 3 years
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top