AR5700D Remote Operation

G8OEO

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2020
Messages
65
Location
Northumberland UK
I’m just starting to play around in a Visual Basic program with the commands for remotely operating the receiver and editing memory banks etc.
Unlike previous AOR receivers this one only displays REMOTE on the LCD display which often makes it difficult to see the results of sending commands without dropping back into local control after each one.

Can anyone who has played with the radio for longer than I have shed any light on whether there is some option for allowing the display to remain in it’s normal mode during remote operation.
 

AOR-262

Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
308
@G8OEO

No - you cannot use the receiver when it's under 'remote' conditions.

I wrote software for the AOR 8000 (AR8000) handheld receiver and the AOR 8600 Mk2. The command list for the 5700D is based on the 5001D receiver. Much easier to write software for AOR products than Icom!
 

G8OEO

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2020
Messages
65
Location
Northumberland UK
Yes I agree the commands are fairly straightforward for the AOR radios. I liked the command manual for the AR8600 because it had an alphabetical listing.

I know you can’t operate any of the radios locally when they are under remote control, however the others I still own (AR3000a and AR8600 mk2) show the normal display on their screens when under PC control.

I was hoping there might be a hidden option in the menus but haven’t been able to find one so far.
I guess I could send “EX” after each command when necessary to get around it.
 
Last edited:

AOR-262

Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
308
@G8OEO

There will most definitely be undocumented commands within the 5700D.

I do remember finding out quite a few undocumented commands for the AOR 8000, one of which I do remember was only applicable if the DS8000 'Speech Inversion Decoded' was installed. That command was "SI" which sets the code for this option unit. It was possible to reprogram different scrambling keys for speech inversion. I never had the DS8000 and if I did, there were no scrambled transmissions I could receive to test.

There was a Group on Facebook specifically for the 5700D but I believe that Group no longer exists - there maybe others, I've not checked. Someone I knew who was then in that Group told me of 'undocumented' keypad combinations that would access a hidden menu system.

I've considered getting a 5700D but the only benefit I would have from owning that receiver is the ability to decode DMR. As I already own the AOR ARD300 which decodes DMR then it's pointless buying one.

Another 'BIG' concern was the firmware upgrading procedure. As you're probably aware, or if you're not (although things might have changed now) ... but not so long ago, maybe a year at the most? When AOR would release a Firmware update, the receiver had to be sent back to the dealer where you purchased your 5700D from. You couldn't take it to any dealer. The receiver would then be returned to AOR Japan at their HQ in Toyko. To date, I believe if I am correct, this is what you now have to do as there was only one UK AOR dealer who now no longer supports the 5700D Firmware update. Quite costly for 5700D owners to send their receiver back to AOR Japan whenever they release a Firmware update.
 

wb4sqi

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2003
Messages
464
Location
Cincinnati, OH
There still is an AOR5700d facebook group and I am a member. As of this minute there are 124 members.

Is the programming in any way similar to the DV-1/DV-10 receivers?
 

AOR-262

Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
308

Attachments

  • Screenshot (69).png
    Screenshot (69).png
    207.5 KB · Views: 0

wb4sqi

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2003
Messages
464
Location
Cincinnati, OH
@wb4sqi

Yes, programming the DV1 / DV10 is simple.

Here's a full list of programming commands from AOR for the DV1 / DV10 (see link below ...). You'll also need a programming cable (see image below - can't remember the name/type of plug/end that you insert into the DV10. Am sure you'll figure that out.

http://www.aorja.com/support/manuals/AR-DV10_AND_AR-DV1_COMMAND_LIST_SUMMARY.pdf

View attachment 167664
I believe you misunderstood my question, I was asking if the programming commands for the 5700d are in any way similar to DV1/DV10. I already have a DV10 that I use with Wayne Taylor's free software that works very well. If the commands are similar then that could be a good beta platform for creating 5700d software.
 

G8OEO

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2020
Messages
65
Location
Northumberland UK

AOR-262

Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
308
@G8OEO

You are viewing documented commands - those are publicly available as per your link you provided. There will be remote commands AOR have not published. Without reverse engineering and memory dumping the logic chipset used in the 5700D you will never access those commands. Unless you are wishing to access and modify default settings it would be best you bypass any non-user commands as you run the risk of 'bricking' the receiver. My experience of this is completely blanking and re-writing the Bandplan of a blocked/USA AOR 8000 - re-writing the Bandplan so that the receiver becomes fully unlocked i.e. full frequency coverage from 100kHz to 2GHz (or whatever it was).

Back to your original post, stick with AOR's documented commands. It would seem as if you are suitably experienced in writing simple code albeit Visual Basic. It's the GUI you need to focus on - unless you are only writing the software for your own personal use.

Edit: Just to add I 'bricked' aka ruined beyond use two AOR 8000 receivers before I got it right. One command sent with incorrect data - at the price of the 5700D ... that's one expensive mistake!
 

AOR-262

Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
308
I believe you misunderstood my question, I was asking if the programming commands for the 5700d are in any way similar to DV1/DV10. I already have a DV10 that I use with Wayne Taylor's free software that works very well. If the commands are similar then that could be a good beta platform for creating 5700d software.

@wb4sqi

No sir - I did understand your question. I did say "Yes, programming the DV1 / DV10 is simple". If you are in the game of writing software/code, sending remote codes to the 5700D will and is easy. Writing the code for your own use, again is easy - but distribute that software requires an appealing GUI. If you are up for the challenge you will make a lot of $$$. :D
 

G8OEO

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2020
Messages
65
Location
Northumberland UK
@AOR-262

The software I write has always simply been for my own use and it’s only the fact that I enjoy combining radio with programming that makes it rewarding.
I must admit I hadn’t considered the possibility of bricking one of these radios by sending an unfortunate combination of commands and data. Thanks for the warning, I will be very careful to avoid any such errors in future.
 

wb4sqi

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2003
Messages
464
Location
Cincinnati, OH
@wb4sqi

No sir - I did understand your question. I did say "Yes, programming the DV1 / DV10 is simple". If you are in the game of writing software/code, sending remote codes to the 5700D will and is easy. Writing the code for your own use, again is easy - but distribute that software requires an appealing GUI. If you are up for the challenge you will make a lot of $$$. :D
I am not in the game of writing code, I have zero knowledge in this area. I am only questioning whether AOR uses the same commands for the 5700d as were used in the DV1/DV10 radios. I assume that those who are knowledgable programmers would be able to answer yes or no. If yes, then there exists a base upon which to build programming for the 5700d.
 

bagmouse7

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
264
Location
NC, USA
I have written some code for the AR5001 and I agree, the fact that the display changing to "REMOTE" is annoying.
I will also add here that the AOR control protocol has been very similar since the AR5000 days.
The DV1, AR5001 and later all share a very similar control protocol.
But, they are not exactly the same so you can't use a common control program.

An example of this is the "RX" command used to read the radio status.
The older radios returned the frequency as a string of 10 digits, the newer radios return this as a string of 11 characters with a decimal point in the 5th location.

AOR has most of the command reference guides here:
Good luck!
 

wb4sqi

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2003
Messages
464
Location
Cincinnati, OH
Thanks bagmouse, that was exactly what I was looking for. I had assumed there were similarities but was hoping someone with knowledge would chime in with a comment.
 
Top