rotator?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cw937

Hello. I am new to SDR listening and just purchased one of these magnetic loop antennas. I was planning on mounting it on the roof along with a discone for wideband listening/decoding. I understand these can be rotated but how much difference does that make? Is that primarily to reduce the noise and is more of a set and forget? I really don't want to get a rotator unless really needed. Would a simple 25' wire antenna in the attic be better?

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
It would be very helpful to know which loop you are going to use.

Loops are better fairly close to the ground - no more than a few meters (say 15 foot or so). This takes advantage of any ground wave pattern you wish to remove, which brings me to the rotator...

The loop's advantages lie in nulling out a source of interference or another station that might be on the same frequency, (when you are dealing with LW and MW). The noise reduction will work on HF, too, but because propagation changes somewhat when you move up the band (skywave tends to be more dominant), the nulling ability is lost. This is physics - nothing you can easily do about that. The rotator will make it easy to turn the loop in the desired direction. Usually the plane of the loop should point in a given direction (not broadside, like a dipole). Keep it as far away from the home and metallic objects as possible.

These are things you simply can't easily do with 25 foot of wire. Now if you had 2 or more lengths of wire outside, there is another solution, but it gets somewhat pricey for what you want to do.

Mike

cw937

Thanks for the info. It is a MLA-30+. MLA-30 Plus Loop Antenna I'm surprised to hear it would be better lower than on the chimney which was my plan. Would there be a lot of difference? If I had no rotator and had to choose a direction I would think point it N,NW for general coverage?

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus