DSDPlus Source EXTERNAL

n5pwp

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
154
Location
Spring, Texas
Anyone know when the CC Activity window shows EXTERNAL in the Source column for a particular TG? I searched the notes and Google and could only find references to using external sources for audio input to DSDPlus. Is it just a oopsie when it does that or is it actually telling me that an external radio accessed the TG? I didn't think they could do that without registering and affiliating with the system controller.

I'm really liking the CC Current Groups window. It helps me to quickly update my '.frequencies' file for unknown TGs. The only aggravating thing is the toggle for keyboard input under the Misc menu doesn't seem to want to stay toggled between restarting the program. I assume some of the things that revert back should be set on the command line to get it to stay.

Thanks
Mike
 

u2brent

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 17, 2010
Messages
2,285
Location
KRWDPAXKRS1
It means a source external to the system being monitored is being patched to the system. This is usually performed via a dispatch console.
 

Kazzaw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
90
Location
South East QLD, Australia
I see it oftenly on one of my local systems here. The P25 network is encrypted however for fire interoperability between regions (P25 is metro and uses encryption, analog is regional) the Metro channel and regional channels are always patched. Whenever a radio from the regional analog system TX's it will show up on the P25 as EXTERNAL
 

n5pwp

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
154
Location
Spring, Texas
It means a source external to the system being monitored is being patched to the system.
Thank you U2Brent. Apparently the search terms I used didn't let me see that old thread on this site. Anyway, thanks for the info. I've been a long time user of the free DSDPlus and just recently decided to subscribe. It is a fantastic deal. I'm loving all the new stuff in the FL version.

Mike
 

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
5,915
Location
Ontario, Canada
I'm really liking the CC Current Groups window. It helps me to quickly update my '.frequencies' file for unknown TGs. The only aggravating thing is the toggle for keyboard input under the Misc menu doesn't seem to want to stay toggled between restarting the program. I assume some of the things that revert back should be set on the command line to get it to stay.
You've got me scratching my head with this comment... The frequencies file doesn't have anything to do with talkgroups?
I've not had any issues with the keyboard input staying active on any of my machines. That's an odd one.
 

n5pwp

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
154
Location
Spring, Texas
Yeah, I've been jumping between the frequencies, groups, sites and networks files that I must've just gotten done updating frequencies when I wrote that. Of course, you're correct. You update the groups file for TGs. Sorry for the confusion and mis-direction.
Mike
 
Top