• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Trouble programming VX-264 with CE-150

Status
Not open for further replies.

wmeter

Newbie
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
2
Hi !

I try to re-program a VX-264 radio with the CE-150 software. If I select 'Radio -> Upload' it ask me for a 6 digit code I don't know called 'Programming Password'.

Is there a way to reset this code ? Remove it ? I remember that older versions of the software I used for the VX-180 had a command line option, something with -manu -recovery -whatever that allowed for a reset of this code ? I'm not even forcefully interested in the current parameters, but even a factory 'reset' code, does someone know this ?

Thx in advance !
 

sloop

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
249
Location
Millers Creek, NC
Wish I could help but I could not get the CE-150 software to work on my computer. A tech told me the problem was that my computer is 64 bit and the program was written for 32 bit. Thanks Motorola!
 

wmeter

Newbie
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
2
Wish I could help but I could not get the CE-150 software to work on my computer. A tech told me the problem was that my computer is 64 bit and the program was written for 32 bit. Thanks Motorola!
Hi Sloop,

Thanks for your feedback ! Re. running the 32bit sofware on a 64bit OS, that should normally not be an issue, I have the same setup btw. I don't know what error message you get, but if you right-click the program shortcut you'll have under properties some settings that allow you to simulate an older OS, like Win7 or even older.

Careful with the software, it comes in three different regional versions, one for the states, one for Egypt & Lybia and one for the rest of the world. If you unpack the file and look into the setup.ini file you can see on the last line which regional version you have.
 

sloop

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
249
Location
Millers Creek, NC
Thanks wmeter, no error message pops up....the program will not locate the radio or the port and will not let me change ports. Go figure.
 

kayn1n32008

ØÆS, I put that shØt on everything.
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
6,170
Location
Sector 001
Wish I could help but I could not get the CE-150 software to work on my computer. A tech told me the problem was that my computer is 64 bit and the program was written for 32 bit. Thanks Motorola!


I run CE150 on a Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit O/S with Service Pack 1 installed. I have no issues using it with both an aftermarket cable and the FIF-12(or what ever that over priced programming USB abortion vertex sells)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:

kayn1n32008

ØÆS, I put that shØt on everything.
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
6,170
Location
Sector 001
Thanks wmeter, no error message pops up....the program will not locate the radio or the port and will not let me change ports. Go figure.


Plug your FIF-12 cable into a USB port. (If it's a serial cable, get a serial to USB adaptor and install the correct drivers for the adaptor) if you are using a FIF-12, Make sure the drivers are installed and the computer sees the cable. Then Under file select 'configure'. In the drop down menu you should see a comm port with FIF-12 beside it. Select that port. Ignore the baudrate, you should not need to change it.

Once done that press the download button, then when prompted turn the radio on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top