Why can't I hear individual units but dispatch fine?

medicfan3

Premium Subscriber
Hello, I was wondering if anybody could answer this curious question I have.

I listen to an EMS station, Cliffside Park EMS in New Jersey, I should also mention that I work as an EMT for this station as well. When I have my scanner on at home and recording, I can hear my dispatcher fine but I cannot hear myself when I'm on the ambulance, for some reason it's very quiet and often hardly audible. I don't hear any static or any interference that can cause issues for my scanner in receiving radio transmissions from the ambulance.

The ambulances do not transmit on a different frequency or channel from that of dispatch we're all on the same one, so I don't really understand why I can't hear myself well or even, say, at all at times. Would this be a reception issue or what else could it possibly be? I've included an audio sample to illustrate what I mean. Please let you're not able to access it. Just in case anybody's wondering, "CPA" stands for Cliffside Park Ambulance.

Thanks in advance.

wgbecks

Would need to know about the radio system to answer your question.
What frequency does CPA operate on or what is the radio systems FCC callsign?

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
Is this on 154.445? If so, that's a simplex channel, not a repeater. Dispatch is using a high powered base station to talk, whereas units in the field are using a lower power mobile or portable radio, so unless you're nearby to the area those units are transmitting from, you're not likely to hear them.

medicfan3

Premium Subscriber
The frequency that we use would be 501.7625. but I seem to hear the transmissions better when I have the modulation switch to just FM rather than NFM. Also, we use a repeater for radio communications. Thanks.

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
That's up in what is known as the T-band, and it was not touched by the narrowbanding mandate back in 2013.