Win 95 with Windows 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

panamint

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9
Location
Inman SC
I have a Pro 95 that I have used Win 95 to program for years. I went to make changes to my scanner and realized my old cable has the DB 9 end on it and my new computer does not have that type of socket. I tried to use a adapter to go from DP 9 to USB but Win 95 wont work. Does anyone know if the new cable from Radio Shack will work with the Pro 95 using Win 95 on a Windows 7 computer. I can't afford to update my scanner at this time so I need a way to make changes to program my scanner.
Thanks for any help you can give me
Scott
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
7,047
Location
Fortunately, GA
I have a Pro 95 that I have used Win 95 to program for years. I went to make changes to my scanner and realized my old cable has the DB 9 end on it and my new computer does not have that type of socket. I tried to use a adapter to go from DP 9 to USB but Win 95 wont work. Does anyone know if the new cable from Radio Shack will work with the Pro 95 using Win 95 on a Windows 7 computer. I can't afford to update my scanner at this time so I need a way to make changes to program my scanner.
Thanks for any help you can give me
Scott
Scott, make sure that the com port is correct for the USB cable. Also, make sure that you have all the new updates for drivers for that cable.
HTH,
Larry
 

kcoleman

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
388
Location
Tallassee, AL
Does anyone know if the new cable from Radio Shack will work with the Pro 95 using Win 95 on a Windows 7 computer.
Yes it will work. I have the GRE version of the cable and WIN 95 on a Windows 7 machine. Works no problem.

Good Luck...
Keith
 

kilowa22

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
338
Location
Oregon
Yes it will work. I have the GRE version of the cable and WIN 95 on a Windows 7 machine. Works no problem.

Good Luck...
Keith
The problem could be that win95 does not work with Win7 since it was designed for Win98/XP/2K. If the USB to serial port works with other programs and radios you should go into Windows Explorer to win95.exe file, right-click with the mouse and select trouble shoot compatibility. I was able to get win95.exe to run, but I don't have a 95 type radio available to test the com port communications.
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
5,750
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
I can't speak for anything under Windows7, but I can tell you that the USB version serial cable (20-047) will work with a PRO-95 and I can tell you that I have successfully used a USB to COM port cable and a COM version scanner cable (like you have) under Windows XP Pro. Regardless you need to load the correct driver for the USB cable you're using and for Windows7, and you need to set WIN95 to the correct COM port.
 

kcoleman

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
388
Location
Tallassee, AL
...but I don't have a 95 type radio available to test the com port communications.
kilowa22 your reply kinda confused me that you quoted my reply. I answered the OP based on my experince...

After some explanation the OP asked. "Does anyone know if the new cable from Radio Shack will work with the Pro 95 using Win 95 on a Windows 7 computer."

I have a PRO-95, I have WIN95, I have the GRE version of the cable the op is asking about and I run it on a Windows 7 machine without any problems. So I stand by my original answer... yes it will work.

Good Luck,
Keith
 

panamint

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9
Location
Inman SC
Thanks for all the info. I guess I will go buy the new cable since I can not get the one using adapters to work. I got it to some how erase all the channels in my scanner but it wont let me install any thing. I have got the updated drivers for the cable but still doesn't work S off the RS to get the cable.
Thanks Scott
 

panamint

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9
Location
Inman SC
Well the new cable does work with Window 7 as long as you get the updated Drivers for Win 7 off the cable makers web site. You have to only check the top box on Win 95 Configuration, uncheck the other two boxes.
Scott
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top