Ws1010 analog scanner

Clats97

Feed Provider
So in wanted an analog scanner mainly for airband. I almost exclusively buy things thru amazon prime so I had to pick between a 120 dollar Whistler or a 200 dollar uniden. I'm a Uniden guy, with uniden radios, and 3 uniden scanners, so this is my first time with Whistler. I got the scanner, programmed in all the frequencies, nothing, won't receive. The squelch is set properly just above the noise floor and when I programmed in the weather frequency it would not receive that either. Am I missing something here?

Thanks

trentbob

W3BUX- Bucks County, PA
Premium Subscriber
A few questions here, do you listen to aviation in your area and receive traffic regularly? Do you have a NOAA weather radio frequency that works on other radios in your area?]. If so there should be no reason that your ws1010 shouldn't be receiving the same using whatever antenna you use for other radios.

Going by memory the ws1010 is a twice rebranded radio originally made by GRE and was the PSR 100, GRE made a model for Radio Shack and then when Whistler bought GRE, they made a model for Radio Shack which I think was the pro 649. They are basically all the same radio. First introduced in 2007 by GRE.

Normally a rooftop or attic antenna or even a VHF ground plane mounted on a floor lamp is going to work better than the rubber duck but again if other radios are picking up aircraft and your local NOAA weather radio frequency then perhaps your new radio is defective. Hopefully you are within the return time range.

A good Uniden radio for aircraft in the same price range is the BC 125 AT. Uniden has an analog non-trunking hobby radio portable and base mobile coming out at some point in the future but the cost factor is unknown and might be more than these units because it includes DMR and nxdn. There are other threads addressing these radios.