Help with static issues on stream RTL-SDR

Status
Not open for further replies.

2000nesman

nesman
Hi all,

I come to you for assistance or guidance as I am very new to all of this. I'm trying to broadcast over on broadcastify on this page and its been a complete train wreck. I'm streaming to the site using a Raspberry Pi 3 B+ and a RTL-SDR dongle. I've managed to get Weather Band to play on it with good audio trying to test the stream audio as this frequency I want to broadcast isn't used 24/7. As soon as I switch to the frequency I want to broadcast (155.0925) it becomes solid static. I've tried adjusting all the levels under -p -l -g but nothing is working.

Also to note:
I did resort to before steaming to test it using rtl_test all came back good
I tested it locally with
Code:
rtl_fm -d 0 -M fm -f 162.474M | aplay
this had issues playing the audio back to me so I installed SOX
once I had sox I then used
Code:
rtl_fm -M fm -f 162.474M | play -r 32k -t raw -e s -b 16 -c 1 -V1 -
and this is where I figured out some of the levels that worked here but then would not work once broadcasting.

Here is my current configuration for 155.0925
Code:
/usr/local/bin/rtl_fm -d 0 -M fm -f 155.0925M -p 0 -l 10 -g 20 -t 2 -E pad -s 12k |
/usr/bin/lame -r -s 12 --resample 22.05 -m m -b 16 --cbr --lowpass 4 - - |
/usr/bin/ezstream -c /etc/ezstream_bcfy.xml > /home/pi/Desktop/bcfy.log 2>&1 &

Here is a picture of my setup if you need it.

Any help or guidance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

vagrant

ker-muhj-uhn
Premium Subscriber
It appears you have the squelch set to ten which is seems to low ( -l 10 )

The RR Wiki on this notes a setting of 65 ( -l 65 ), but that may be too much. I would stay to start it again at -l 20 and keep moving up in multiples of 10 until the static is gone. I would then change the configuration and move down in multiples of two, as you do not want to squelch out weak signals.