SDS100/SDS200: Uniden SDS100 - Not Receiving almost anything, RSSI for everything is above -100dbm

Radioshock

Premium Subscriber
Hello Everyone, i am having troubles with my Uniden SDS100. I have looked at many posts on this forum as well as read manuals and tried to diagnose the problem myself by cant seem to find a solution or reason. I am fairly new with using Uniden SDS100 Scanners.

I have cleared user settings, reset the device, tried a new SD card, Forced downloaded the new database, made sure my firmware is up to date.

I have also made sure that my service selection is set to all be ON, as well as made sure there are no avoids or priority scanning or close call enabled.

My SDS100 doesn't receive any broadcasts from almost anything. I receive from random channels but probably only 2 out of the entire database in my area. Even channels that are strong on my XTS5000 radios (i have both UHF and VHF versions), such as EMS and Fire, and Police do not receive on my SDS100 at all.

My radio does show signal bars 3 to 4 when scanning, but i have noticed that my RSSI is always above -95dbm at minimum if not above -100DBm, even for broadcasts that are close to me, as well as radio stations. Also on alot of broadcasts i hear lots of static.

Please help me figure this issue out, i am not sure if this is the cold solder joint issue because many people report getting a -40dbm signal strength while not receiving anything but i am just getting very low RSSI on everything. If it helps i can also provide a video.

dave3825

Premium Subscriber
And in addition the what @tvengr asked, is this a brand new scanner or a brand new problem, meaning it was working fine, and now its not.

Radioshock

Premium Subscriber
I am trying to monitor broadcasts in the Greater Toronto Area.
Specifically in the following area;
State: Ontario
County: York
Trying to monitor, Ontario Provincial Police (Bell FleetNet), York Fire, Toronto EMS. These are the main ones.