396t Multi Site ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaLa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
1,502
Location
Butler, Mo (few days a month lol)
I am in the middle of a career change. :lol:

I'm currently training to be a truck driver.

Anyways, I'm trying to program the DPS/HP/State Troopers for a lot of the different states.
Some of those states, have multi site trunking systems.


Whats the best way to set those up in the 396?
Just program ALL of the Frequencies of that system into one system?

Is there a limitation on how many frequencies you can enter for a MOT or P25 Trunking System?

It would be impractical to use different systems.
Also I'm wondering if it would slow down the scanning proccess.

I have not dealt with Multi-Site Trunking Systems much
Especially on Statewide levels.

thanks.
 

Viper43

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
3,307
The 396 doesn't do multi site trunking, they have to bet setup in seperate systems, the 996 does do multi site.
 

BaLa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
1,502
Location
Butler, Mo (few days a month lol)
OK I realize it does NOT do Multi-Site Trunking...

You ignored the rest of my post apparently.

It should work to put all the CCs into ONE System.
IS there a limitation for number of frequencies.


I used to have FLW, Mo Military system with 4 different sites programmed into 1 system.
That would be nothing like a whole state.
 
Last edited:

gregmoss

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
151
Location
Alaska
Create a seperate System, System Attributes and Site, and monitor them that way. Since theirs no muti-site trunking. I don't understand why they didn't do this with the br330 or bcd396:(
 

Viper43

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
3,307
Actually I didn't ignore the rest of your questions, I pretty much summed it all up in that one line. The scanner limits the number of frequencies to 200 in a system.... which is in the manual. Motorola systems are usually limited to 28 frequencies with 2-4 CC's.
 

BaLa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
1,502
Location
Butler, Mo (few days a month lol)
In that case you could likely dump all of the CCs into one system.
It is unlikely to pick up more than one CC at a time anyways.

So that shouldn't cause a big problem.
It will be a huge PITA to program that way though.

I do plan on getting the 996 eventually, but don't have the cash right now.
 

Viper43

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
3,307
Right, it will only get one CC then go to another system, which when traveling could get one CC through several counties before finding another because it always goes back to the first one it finds and won't search for another unless it loses it completely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top